Poetry Friday: Cracking Rocks

Several things came together to contribute to this week’s poem. Like many of us, I am still thinking about the events in Charlottesville and searching for the best way to respond to the hatred that seems to be rising again. (On the hopeful side, there is an even stronger response rising with it that says, No, we will not let hate rule our communities.) On my walks, I am fascinated by the unlikely places I find plants growing–out of a rocky cliff, within cracks in the asphalt, between concrete slabs on a doorway. Wherever these plants put roots down, they begin the process of breaking down our solid creation back into soil.

Then I read this blog post from a friend of mine: Between a Rock and … a Violet? Even though she is on sabbatical in England and Scotland, I was amazed at the similar paths our thoughts were taking. Finally, I turned to another poem for inspiration: Unfolding Bud by Naoshi Koriyana. I enjoyed teaching this poem and offering it as a mentor text for my middle school students. I hoped I could use it as well to capture my wandering thoughts. Here’s what happened:

Cracking Rocks

I am amazed
by green shoots
poking up
through cracks
in concrete and asphalt,
taking root
and reaching for the sun
against all odds.

I hope
that acts of kindness
can break
through the cracks
in the walls of fear,
anger and hatred
we build between us.

I want
to be surprised
by love
taking root,
stretching
toward each other
against all odds.

Each Friday, I am excited to take part in Poetry Friday, where writers share their love of all things poetry. Jone has the Poetry Friday Roundup today at Check It Out. This week she introduces a brand new Poetry Friday Power Pack book. It’s time to get Pet Crazy. Stop by and see what poetry morsels are offered this week. 

31 Comments on Poetry Friday: Cracking Rocks

  1. Brenda Harsham
    September 4, 2017 at 12:15 am (7 years ago)

    Love always wins, because that is the art that survives down the centuries.

    Reply
  2. jone
    August 27, 2017 at 11:05 pm (7 years ago)

    I hope the rocks crack with hope and peace and kindness. This past week, thank you for bringing a new perspective.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      August 28, 2017 at 9:45 am (7 years ago)

      Thank you, Jone. I am hunting for more hope and peace and kindness each week.

      Reply
  3. Diane Mayr
    August 27, 2017 at 10:38 am (7 years ago)

    I take inspiration from seeing a boulder that I know didn’t crack on it’s own, but must have had the insistent pressure of a tree root year after year finally cause it to split. May our hearts prevail like the roots. Thanks for such a thoughtful post.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      August 28, 2017 at 9:43 am (7 years ago)

      Thank you, Diane. What an inspiring image. We may not see the work of those roots at first–or even for a long while–but they still grow and break through.

      Reply
  4. KatApel
    August 27, 2017 at 12:21 am (7 years ago)

    A beautiful progression of thoughts and hope, Kay. And a wonderful response to your ponderings.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      August 28, 2017 at 9:42 am (7 years ago)

      Thank you, Kat.

      Reply
  5. Michelle Heidenrich Barnes
    August 26, 2017 at 10:49 pm (7 years ago)

    Oh, how I love your comparison between green shoots poking up through the concrete and acts of kindness breaking through anger and hatred! I want to be surprised too, Kay. More than anything.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      August 28, 2017 at 9:42 am (7 years ago)

      Thank you, Michelle. I am hopeful that we will be surprised. In the midst of the devastation in Texas, we are seeing many examples of those shoots breaking through and growing strong. Maybe next we can learn to do so without a natural disaster.

      Reply
  6. Carol Varsalona
    August 26, 2017 at 5:56 pm (7 years ago)

    “taking root
    and reaching for the sun
    against all odds.”
    This thought is one to ponder, Kay. We need more roots to take hold and spread kindness against all odds.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      August 26, 2017 at 7:43 pm (7 years ago)

      Thanks, Carol. I hope that kindness and love do take root and spread.

      Reply
  7. Molly Hogan
    August 26, 2017 at 5:50 pm (7 years ago)

    I find those valiant plants fascinating and hopeful as well. Here’s hoping kindness and unity triumph “against all odds.”

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      August 26, 2017 at 7:43 pm (7 years ago)

      Hear, hear! I hope that much kindness and unity take root and flourish.

      Reply
  8. Ruth (thereisnosuchthingasagodforsakentown.blogspot.com)
    August 26, 2017 at 5:15 pm (7 years ago)

    Lovely! I have been thinking a lot about plants lately, and how there’s something in them we can’t control or make happen. Growth in people is a lot the same way. Just like those green shoots coming up in the sidewalk, people can grow together too.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      August 26, 2017 at 7:42 pm (7 years ago)

      Thanks, Ruth. There is something miraculous about plants and how they grow. They lead me to many reflections on my own growth, too.

      Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      August 26, 2017 at 8:14 am (7 years ago)

      Mary Lee, thank you for sharing Malvina’s song and your poetic response. Both are perfect for these days!

      Reply
  9. Jane @ Raincity Librarian
    August 26, 2017 at 12:23 am (7 years ago)

    I like to think that goodness and kindness are like those weeds – no matter how much concrete gets poured on them and around them, they always find a way to break through!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      August 26, 2017 at 8:12 am (7 years ago)

      Me, too, Jane. I keep holding on to hope that kindness will break through.

      Reply
  10. Buffy Silverman
    August 25, 2017 at 10:23 pm (7 years ago)

    Here’s to strong roots and making connections!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      August 26, 2017 at 8:11 am (7 years ago)

      Hear, hear!

      Reply
  11. Violet N.
    August 25, 2017 at 10:04 pm (7 years ago)

    Just beautiful Kay! Don’t you feel better just having found a way to nail those thoughts into word? And such nicely put together ones too.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      August 26, 2017 at 8:11 am (7 years ago)

      Thank you, Violet. I do feel better having found words.

      Reply
  12. Robyn Hood Black
    August 25, 2017 at 9:21 pm (7 years ago)

    Such beautiful imagery, Kay – a lovely inspired response to the “Unfolding Bud” poem. Thanks for sharing both. “I want/to be surprised/by love/taking root” – Amen.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      August 25, 2017 at 10:00 pm (7 years ago)

      Thank you, Robyn. That ending is my prayer.

      Reply
  13. Linda
    August 25, 2017 at 8:41 pm (7 years ago)

    Oh, this is beautiful! Thank you for sharing this….and I think it’s a perfect mentor text for middle school. I might just use it too.
    I live in VA not too far from Charlottesville and the emotions are running very high all over this state. It feels to me that the Civil War is far from over….that despite the win, the North’s handling of the post-war period of Reconstruction was a loss of its own for the hatred that spread throughout our nation. We have so much work to do.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      August 25, 2017 at 10:00 pm (7 years ago)

      Thank you, Linda. My middle school students liked this one–and I loved the poems they created from using it as a mentor text. I agree, it does seem like we are still fighting the Civil War. I hope we can put it to rest, but it may be an ongoing struggle.

      Reply
  14. Linda Baie
    August 25, 2017 at 5:56 pm (7 years ago)

    Breaking through the cracks is something for us all to hope for. I enjoyed your connections, Kay.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      August 25, 2017 at 6:32 pm (7 years ago)

      Thank you, Linda. I am hopeful–at least I keep reminding myself to keep hope.

      Reply
  15. Donna
    August 25, 2017 at 1:27 pm (7 years ago)

    This is so hopeful and so in sync with my heart right now. Thanks for sharing your thoughts. I’m glad we are on the same page– but not surprised!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      August 25, 2017 at 6:31 pm (7 years ago)

      Thank you, Donna. It’s good to know we are not alone, but in this together.

      Reply

Leave a Reply