NPM: A book skinny

Welcome to April and National Poetry Month. I plan to write a new poem every day for the month of April. For much of the month I hope to explore prompts in poemcrazy by Susan Goldsmith Wooldridge, but I make no promises not to find inspiration in other places. If you want to join in even more poetry fun and shenanigans check out the 2020 National Poetry Month Kidlitosphere Events Roundup hosted by Jama over at Jama’s Alphabet Soup. And for the first time (for me) I am taking part in the Progressive Poem organized by Margaret at Reflections on the Teche. Check out the daily progress with the list of contributors on the right (scroll down). .You can find today’s line from Fan Haley at lil bits and pieces.

I’m trying another prompt in poemcrazy today. This practice invites me to consider image angels–any object that I see and that might have a message for me. Since I am getting tired, my gaze didn’t wander far–to the low bookshelves that line the wall in front of me. Here is an attempt at a skinny.

A Book Skinny

on low shelves filled with stories
books
open
new
worlds
books
hold
old
friends
books
filled with stories on low shelves

If you want to see the rest of National Poetry Month poems, here they are:

Day 28: Dream Refuge (from the center of the house in poemcrazy)
Day 27: Open Hearts (from open the window in poemcrazy and Jane Goodall)
Day 26: Recipe for a Hike (from Irene Latham’s interview with Marilyn Singer)
Day 25: Lessons from a Pond (again from I dress myself with rain in poemcrazy)
Day 24: Geese haiku (from my pond)
Day 23: Blueberries (from skin spinoff in poemcrazy)
Day 22: Promise (DMC from Today’s Little Ditty)
Day 21: Found Haiku
Day 20: Ball of Yarn (from bring me magic in poemcrazy)
Day 19: Liminal (from Laura Shovan’s #WaterPoemProject)
Day 18: Where I’m From: A Poem from a Pond (from Laura Shovan’s #WaterPoemProject and I dress myself with rain in poemcrazy)
Day 17: Transformation (from poems and the body in poemcrazy)
Day 16: Follow My Nose (from poems and the body in poemcrazy)
Day 15: A Story Lost (DMC from Today’s Little Ditty)
Day 14: Water’s Smooch (from Laura Shovan’s #WaterPoemProject)
Day 13: Hope (from lying to tell the truth in poemcrazy and Emily Dickinson)
Day 12: My Sign (from my daily walk)
Day 11: Stitches (from from my grandmother in poemcrazy)
Day 10: These Hands (DMC from Today’s Little Diitty)
Day 9: I’m From (from where do you come from in  poemcrazy)
Day 8: Peaceful Porch (from Plum Nelly poemcrazy)
Day 7: I Am (from full moon me in poemcrazy)
Day 6: Progressive Poem
Day 5: Small Celebrations (from on a night picnic in poemcrazy)
Day 4: A Water Limerick (from Laura Shovan’s #WaterPoemProject)
Day 3: our real names (from our real names in poemcrazy)
Day 2: Star Burst (from naming wild hippo in poemcrazy)
Day 1: Pandemic (DMC from Today’s Little Diitty)

2 Comments on NPM: A book skinny

  1. Linda Baie
    April 29, 2020 at 9:26 pm (4 years ago)

    I love skinnys, and yours is perfect! Nice to look across the room & see old friends. One day!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      April 30, 2020 at 5:30 pm (4 years ago)

      Thanks, Linda. I struggle with the form, but keep coming back to it. I’m grateful to have so many old friends in the pages of books while I can’t be with the IRL friends.

      Reply

Leave a Reply