Reading Is…

I had a great first day of school today.  I could feel the excitement in the hallways all day long.  My students blew me away already today.  When students came in to class, they had to think about a quote and write their their response to it.  Here’s the quote and some questions for thought:

“Reading is to the mind, what exercise is to the body.”

Joseph Addison (English poet and essayist)

How is reading like exercise?  What do the two activities have in common?

Many students had thoughtful answers, but one blew me away.  I want to share Hannah’s response:

Reading is like exercise because your mind is absorbing all the words and you are painting a picture in your mind of the scene you are reading.  The two activities are alike because you may be using different materials, but we are still working.

What do you think?  How is reading like exercise?  I’d love to hear what you think in the comments.  (If you’re new to blogging, click on the word “comments” just below the title.  Fill out your name and email (not published) and type your answer in the box.  Then click on the SUBMIT button below.  You may have to scroll down a bit to find it.)

Leave a Reply