Heist Society by Ally Carter

heist society

Katerina Bishop pulled the biggest con of her life to walk away from the family business, but can she truly be free?  More importantly, can she come back home again?  She’s about to find out once her friend and business partner Hale shows up to get her kicked out of school.  Kat’s dad needs help that only she can give.  The brutal Aturo Taccone has had five paintings stolen from his personal collection, and he wants them back.  He’s convinced the thief was Kat’s father.  Taccone will have either his paintings back or revenge.  There is just one solution:  Kat must steal the paintings back and return them to save her father.  Can Kat and her crew of highly talented teens pull off the biggest heist in history? 

One of the things I love about books is they can take me inside a life I would never know or have for myself.  True, a life as a thief would probably not be nearly as glamorous as reading about Kat and her friends–as Kat says, it helps if your best friend is a billionaire–but it is fun to imagine.  Ally Carter brings the glamour and adventure to thrilling life in Heist Society (Disney Hyperion 2010).  I got the same thrill reading it as I did when I first watched The Sting.  It almost makes me want to plan a heist of my own.  On second thought, maybe I’ll just keep reading about one in the sequel Uncommon Criminals.  Or I could go back and read the stack of books in the Gallagher Girl series to sharpen my spy skills.  Now if only I could have a butler like Marcus, someone to anticipate my every need and meet them with unwavering loyalty.

What is your favorite con or spy story?

Leave a Reply