Poetry Friday: Meet Lucky Pup

A little over a year ago, we brought home a new-to-us dog from the shelter. I look forward to our daily walks and nightly snuggles. And as with many of my past four-legged companions, he is a source of poetic inspiration.

I was also inspired by all the cascade poems by the Poetry Sisters last week, so I gave it a try, though I did not include the theme of transformation. Trying this new form was challenge enough!

 

A Lucky Pup

I’m a foxhound
sniffing invisible trails
with my nose to the ground.

I leap and I bound
when a new scent sails
’cause I am a foxhound.

My nose never fails
as it crisscrosses the ground
sniffing invisible trails.

I don’t know what might be found
since I’ll never see the bunny tails
with my nose to the ground

 

Sniff out all kinds of poetry treasures with Laura, who is hosting Poetry Friday at Laura Shovan. She shares a new book by Laura Purdie Salas about a found family of loons and duckling. It looks delightful!

27 Comments on Poetry Friday: Meet Lucky Pup

  1. Laura Shovan
    February 9, 2023 at 5:39 pm (1 year ago)

    We have beagle hounds and oh — that nose crisscrossing the ground is familiar!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      February 10, 2023 at 9:01 am (1 year ago)

      I just wish I could know all they smell!

      Reply
  2. Heidi Mordhorst
    February 6, 2023 at 7:24 am (1 year ago)

    I like your cascade of trails sails fails tails! Sweet doggie.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      February 10, 2023 at 9:01 am (1 year ago)

      Thanks, Heidi.

      Reply
  3. Robyn Hood Black
    February 5, 2023 at 11:56 pm (1 year ago)

    What a fun poem, and what an adorable (& LUCKY) dog. Makes me remember a hound-mix rescue we had years ago, who shared the same name. Thanks, Kay!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      February 10, 2023 at 9:00 am (1 year ago)

      Thanks, Robyn. We are enjoying him very much!

      Reply
  4. Ruth, thereisnosuchthingasagodforsakentown.blogspot.com
    February 4, 2023 at 12:45 pm (1 year ago)

    <3

    Reply
  5. Bridget Magee
    February 4, 2023 at 11:47 am (1 year ago)

    This cascade poem smells like a winner, Kay! Your pooch is pure cuteness. đŸ™‚

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      February 4, 2023 at 9:31 pm (1 year ago)

      Thanks, Bridget

      Reply
  6. Rose Cappelli
    February 4, 2023 at 11:44 am (1 year ago)

    Wonderful poem, Kay! So visual.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      February 4, 2023 at 9:31 pm (1 year ago)

      Thanks, Rose!

      Reply
  7. PATRICIA J FRANZ
    February 4, 2023 at 12:59 am (1 year ago)

    Yes, one lucky foxhound! He sounds charming! I’m so motivated to try the cascade form.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      February 4, 2023 at 9:31 pm (1 year ago)

      Thanks, Patricia. It was a fun form to try.

      Reply
  8. jone
    February 3, 2023 at 11:42 pm (1 year ago)

    What a lucky dog to find his furever home. What a fun poem. I think you found a muse.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      February 4, 2023 at 9:29 pm (1 year ago)

      Jone, he is quite inspiring!

      Reply
  9. Laura Purdie Salas
    February 3, 2023 at 10:38 pm (1 year ago)

    Hahaha, I love this, Kay! And you took on the challenge of adding rhyme to your cascade poem. Well done! He’s an adorable one!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      February 4, 2023 at 9:29 pm (1 year ago)

      Thanks, Laura. He’s a keeper!

      Reply
  10. Carol Varsalona
    February 3, 2023 at 8:53 pm (1 year ago)

    Yes, you tried the cascade poem with a significant character as the focal point. I can see the 3rd stanza so vividly. Your new dog is adorable. Enjoy winter walks with the foxhound.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      February 3, 2023 at 9:20 pm (1 year ago)

      Thanks, Carol. He is quite a character

      Reply
  11. Linda Mitchell
    February 3, 2023 at 6:06 pm (1 year ago)

    Awwwww! Great cascade poem…and super cute pooch. What’s his name?

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      February 3, 2023 at 9:20 pm (1 year ago)

      Thanks, Linda. His name is Lucky

      Reply
  12. jama
    February 3, 2023 at 3:28 pm (1 year ago)

    What a cute foxhound! Enjoyed the poem. Thanks for the smile this week. đŸ™‚

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      February 3, 2023 at 9:20 pm (1 year ago)

      Thanks, Jama

      Reply
  13. Linda Baie
    February 3, 2023 at 11:06 am (1 year ago)

    Ha, ha, love the ending, Kay! Now you’ve made me wonder if they do miss so many things with nose to the ground.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      February 3, 2023 at 1:13 pm (1 year ago)

      Thanks, Linda. He sure notices when we cross the path it made, though!

      Reply
  14. Irene Latham
    February 3, 2023 at 8:59 am (1 year ago)

    I am 100% in love with this poem! Yay for your inspiring pooch, which reminds me of more than one hound-ish scent-driven dogs I have loved. xo

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      February 3, 2023 at 1:13 pm (1 year ago)

      Thanks, Irene. I wish I could see those scents trails they follow.

      Reply

Leave a Reply