Poetry Friday: Welcome Winter

Last week I was looking forward to spring. This week I welcome winter in all its magic. Even though I can recognize the hassles and even danger that winter storms can bring, my eyes still light up as snowflakes begin to swirl. I am grateful I can work from home and not have to get out on icy roads. I am grateful for our warm, snug home surrounded by snow-laden trees.

snow paints every branch
until the world fades to white
blurring sharp edges

schools and work close
as snow drapes the world in white
a quiet cocoon

Jan is hosting Poetry Friday today at Bookseed Studio. She shares a bounty of poetry and art and more from Sharon Lovejoy. Head over so you don’t miss out on any of it! If you would like to learn more about Poetry Friday, check out this.

28 Comments on Poetry Friday: Welcome Winter

  1. Laura Shovan
    January 30, 2023 at 4:20 pm (1 year ago)

    I miss snow! We haven’t had a good snowfall in Maryland in several years. Your poem captures the muffling effect of snow and that beautiful blanket of quiet.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      January 30, 2023 at 8:17 pm (1 year ago)

      Thanks, Laura. I wasn’t sure if we would get a good snow, but I’m glad we did.

      Reply
  2. Laura Purdie Salas
    January 29, 2023 at 8:42 pm (1 year ago)

    I love your choice of “drapes” here, Kay! Gorgeous. And I love snow…

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      January 30, 2023 at 8:16 pm (1 year ago)

      Thanks, Laura.

      Reply
  3. Linda
    January 29, 2023 at 6:45 pm (1 year ago)

    I love the quiet cocoon. That’s exactly it feels when it snows!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      January 30, 2023 at 8:16 pm (1 year ago)

      Thanks, Linda. I love that quiet feeling.

      Reply
  4. Karen Edmisten
    January 29, 2023 at 6:08 pm (1 year ago)

    I was feeling so tired of winter today, Kay, but you’ve offered a glimmer of hope and light. đŸ˜€

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      January 30, 2023 at 8:16 pm (1 year ago)

      Thanks, Karen. We might as well enjoy it while it lasts.

      Reply
  5. PATRICIA J FRANZ
    January 29, 2023 at 11:21 am (1 year ago)

    I’m with you, Kay – I could stay in and be immersed in white every day — well, until my pup insists we get out in it! JOY!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      January 29, 2023 at 4:27 pm (1 year ago)

      My pup likes to go out in it, too. At least I can see the tracks in the snow of the critters he follows with his nose.

      Reply
  6. Marcie Flinchum Atkins
    January 28, 2023 at 9:12 pm (1 year ago)

    I really love a quiet cocoon. I always feel like in winter, if it’s going to be cold, it might as well snow. But otherwise, I’m a summer gal through and through.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      January 29, 2023 at 4:26 pm (1 year ago)

      Especially if it’s going to be cold and wet, I want it to snow. We might get more this week.

      Reply
  7. Linda Baie
    January 28, 2023 at 11:50 am (1 year ago)

    We had a snow day last week & more snow, then really cold, coming this afternoon. Your delight in a snowy day comes out loud & clear, Kay. “Cocoon” is the word for it for sure!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      January 28, 2023 at 1:31 pm (1 year ago)

      thanks Linda. At least our snow this time didn’t bring such bitter cold–but I’m still grateful for the warm cocoon our our house.

      Reply
  8. Linda Mitchell
    January 28, 2023 at 9:15 am (1 year ago)

    Sweeeeeet. I do love a snow day and the quiet of that cocoon. Enjoy!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      January 28, 2023 at 10:27 am (1 year ago)

      Thanks, Linda. Fortunately we have the quiet most of the time.

      Reply
  9. Michelle Kogan
    January 28, 2023 at 2:03 am (1 year ago)

    Love the pond image to wrap around and accompany your calming “quiet cocoon” poem, thanks for this winter respite Kaye!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      January 28, 2023 at 10:26 am (1 year ago)

      Thanks, Michelle. I love looking at our pond through all seasons.

      Reply
  10. Susan T.
    January 27, 2023 at 4:24 pm (1 year ago)

    Snow is indeed a fine muse, as Liz is saying. I haven’t had a snow day yet this year. Not that I’m on a school schedule—I just want one of those days with the “blurring soft edges.”

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      January 27, 2023 at 8:51 pm (1 year ago)

      I’m no longer tied to the school schedule either, but I still get excited for a snow day–even when I still have to work from home as usual.

      Reply
  11. Mary Lee
    January 27, 2023 at 3:42 pm (1 year ago)

    You captured the winter vibe perfectly!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      January 27, 2023 at 8:51 pm (1 year ago)

      Thanks, Mary Lee!

      Reply
  12. Rose Cappelli
    January 27, 2023 at 1:27 pm (1 year ago)

    Love that quiet cocoon and how the snow blurs sharp edges. Beautiful, Kay.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      January 27, 2023 at 1:32 pm (1 year ago)

      Thanks, Rose. That blurring and quiet are some of my favorite aspects of snow.

      Reply
  13. Liz Garton Scanlon
    January 27, 2023 at 9:20 am (1 year ago)

    Snow is such a fine muse! Thank you for this evocative piece….

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      January 27, 2023 at 1:31 pm (1 year ago)

      Thanks, Liz. Yes, I agree–snow is a wonderful muse

      Reply
  14. Sally Murphy
    January 26, 2023 at 9:39 pm (1 year ago)

    Just lovely Kay. I have barely ever seen snow, so find these images fascinating. I love the imagery of snow draping the world in a cocoon.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      January 27, 2023 at 1:31 pm (1 year ago)

      I grew up in the southern US, so snow was a rare treat. That’s part of why I still get excited for a snow day.

      Reply

Leave a Reply