Poetry Friday: The Nest

Welcome to April–otherwise known as National Poetry Month! I am not planning any big poetry projects for myself this year, but I am looking forward to basking in all the poetry goodness that abounds this month. Susan Bruck is collecting links to all the fabulous poetry projects throughout the kidlitosphere at Soul Blossom Living. Join in with writing your own poems or just enjoy readking. And don’t forget to follow the Progressive Poem coordinated by Margaret Simon. Find the links for each day here.

This spring I have been fascinated watching the geese who visit our pond. Usually, they have built their nest on other ponds, but this year our pond has been selected as home. My husband is not thrilled, but I am delighted watching them.

The Nest

Two geese float upon the pond

heads bobbing under the surface
looking for a tasty morsel.

Then they gather leaves and grass,
fluff and pluck downy feathers
to form a cozy island nest.

Each Friday, I am excited to take part in Poetry Friday, where writers share their love of all things poetry. Mary Lee hosts the Poetry Friday Roundup today at A Year of Reading. She is keeping a haiku diary for National Poetry month. Hurry  over and check out all the poetry morsels offered up today.

18 Comments on Poetry Friday: The Nest

  1. Michelle Heidenrich Barnes
    April 5, 2021 at 8:05 pm (3 years ago)

    I hope we’ll hear more about your special “cozy island nest” view this month, Kay. No geese around these parts, but I did have a squirrel try to climb up our front door this afternoon!

    Reply
  2. Buffy Silverman
    April 5, 2021 at 4:54 pm (3 years ago)

    Lucky you to watch a cozy island nest! We have a pair that I think will nest near our dock, but have not found their hiding place yet!

    Reply
  3. Fran Haley
    April 5, 2021 at 10:05 am (3 years ago)

    Kay, geese live at a pond across the street from my house and they usually make a “cozy island nest” there as well. I imagine we will both be seeing goslings soon! That image is a poem in itself. 🙂

    Reply
  4. Ramona
    April 4, 2021 at 7:15 pm (3 years ago)

    What fun that they’ve chosen your pond. I like how your poem takes them from floating to eating to creating. I hope you have fun watching their young.

    Reply
  5. Heidi Mordhorst
    April 4, 2021 at 8:23 am (3 years ago)

    Nature writes its own poems sometimes, right? All we have to do is look.

    Reply
  6. Bridget Magee
    April 4, 2021 at 4:26 am (3 years ago)

    ‘Me-Goose-ta’, Kay! 🙂

    Reply
  7. Laura Purdie Salas
    April 3, 2021 at 10:22 pm (3 years ago)

    Love your poem and photos, Kay!

    Reply
  8. Linda Mitchell
    April 3, 2021 at 7:31 am (3 years ago)

    Oh, those geese. I love them. Sometimes, my husband I see a whole flock sitting on a field…silent. I call them the Quaker Meeting. I love that in your poem they have formed an island nest.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      April 3, 2021 at 6:34 pm (3 years ago)

      I love the Quaker meeting. Our geese are pretty noisy. We can hear them coming and going.

      Reply
  9. Sally Murphy
    April 2, 2021 at 10:34 pm (3 years ago)

    Oh how lovely to have this happening so close by.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      April 3, 2021 at 6:33 pm (3 years ago)

      Oh it is! Right now there’s not much action–just waiting as goose sits on nest. I am guessing there are eggs now.

      Reply
  10. Tricia Stohr-Hunt
    April 2, 2021 at 8:10 pm (3 years ago)

    I love how each stanza builds, adding more lines, as the geese are building their nest.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      April 3, 2021 at 6:32 pm (3 years ago)

      Thanks, Tricia. It was much like the nest building–leaves and grass one day, then feathers added the next.

      Reply
  11. Ruth
    April 2, 2021 at 3:51 pm (3 years ago)

    Birds seem to be the theme today! Love this!

    Ruth, thereisnosuchthingasagodforsakentown.blogspot.com

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      April 2, 2021 at 5:05 pm (3 years ago)

      Birds are a great theme!

      Reply
      • Ruth
        April 11, 2021 at 9:41 am (3 years ago)

        Indeed they are!

        Ruth, thereisnosuchthingasagodforsakentown.blogspot.com

        Reply
  12. Mary Lee
    April 2, 2021 at 11:30 am (3 years ago)

    What fun! You’ll get to watch the goslings grow up!!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      April 2, 2021 at 5:02 pm (3 years ago)

      I’m excited to see their first swim across the pond!

      Reply

Leave a Reply