Poetry Friday: Truly

Wow! What a week for poetry. There were many things to rejoice in at Wednesday’s Inauguration, but my favorite part was hearing Amanda Gorman recite her poem, “The Hill We Climb.” I am also thrilled that so many people–many of whom did not know they liked poetry–have been moved by her powerful words and performance that more than met the moment we are in and inspires hope for our future.

I am glad she had words to share with us all, because I have struggled to find words at all this week. None of my thoughts or feelings wanted to settle down into words. Fortunately, Laura Shovan and Margaret Simon introduced me to another poet-teacher, who led the way. Stacey L. Joy offered a writing prompt inspired by Nikki Giovanni at Ethical ELA. After several false starts, I wrote a response to Psalm 139, using Nikki GIovanni’s poem “Quiet (for Marvalene)” as a model.

Truly

truly
you know my
deepest being

true
you know
my ways of work
and times of rest

truly
you know
my thoughts before
I share my posts

true
like the stars
that stretch above me and
the sun that rises

truly
you will search for me
and find me wherever
I may wander

true
you created me
in your image

truly
truly
truly

I will praise you
because I am wondrously made

and you called me good

Each Friday, I am excited to take part in Poetry Friday, where writers share their love of all things poetry. Laura hosts the Poetry Friday Roundup today at Laura Shovan – Blog. She celebrates Amanda Gorman’s poem and shares more resources to share Amanda’s poetry with students. Hurry over and check out all the poetry morsels offered up today.

26 Comments on Poetry Friday: Truly

  1. Michelle Kogan
    January 28, 2021 at 6:29 pm (3 years ago)

    Beautiful Kay, I think the poem was waiting for you to write her, and so glad you shared her with us, thanks!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      January 28, 2021 at 8:49 pm (3 years ago)

      Thank you, Michelle.

      Reply
  2. Susan Bruck
    January 25, 2021 at 12:55 am (3 years ago)

    Thanks for sharing this lovely poem. It has been a hard week to find the right words for me, too. But you managed to find a few really good ones! And I looked at the psalm, too–it’s been a while since I read it. You did capture the spirit of it and I needed to hear the last line, especially.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      January 28, 2021 at 8:49 pm (3 years ago)

      Thank you, Susan. It was a Psalm I needed to hear this week, too.

      Reply
  3. Ruth
    January 24, 2021 at 3:39 pm (3 years ago)

    So lovely!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      January 24, 2021 at 4:15 pm (3 years ago)

      Thanks, Ruth

      Reply
  4. Bridget Magee
    January 24, 2021 at 5:45 am (3 years ago)

    So good, just like YOU! đŸ™‚

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      January 24, 2021 at 10:32 am (3 years ago)

      Thanks, Bridget.

      Reply
  5. Sally Murphy
    January 24, 2021 at 1:49 am (3 years ago)

    Beautiful Kay x

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      January 24, 2021 at 10:31 am (3 years ago)

      Thanks, Sally

      Reply
  6. janice scully
    January 23, 2021 at 4:44 pm (3 years ago)

    I took a moment to read Psalm 139. Your poem reflects the tone of it so well. Thanks for sharing it.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      January 24, 2021 at 10:31 am (3 years ago)

      Thanks, Janice. I’ve been reading Psalm 139 all week, so it sunk in.

      Reply
  7. Michelle Heidenrich Barnes
    January 23, 2021 at 3:49 pm (3 years ago)

    It seems you found just the right vehicle to express your heart, Kay. Beautiful.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      January 24, 2021 at 10:31 am (3 years ago)

      Thank you, Michelle. It took awhile to find, but it came together at last.

      Reply
  8. Laura Shovan
    January 23, 2021 at 12:25 pm (3 years ago)

    Kay, this prompt and form was a beautiful choice for responding to such a beloved Psalm. Thanks for being part of Poetry Friday this week.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      January 24, 2021 at 10:30 am (3 years ago)

      Thanks, Laura–and thanks for hosting this week.

      Reply
  9. jama
    January 23, 2021 at 11:33 am (3 years ago)

    Absolutely lovely and so life affirming!! Thanks for your beautiful words, Kay :).

    Reply
    • Kay Jernigan McGriff
      January 24, 2021 at 10:29 am (3 years ago)

      Thank you, Jama. I’m ready for lots of life affirming words and actions

      Reply
  10. Carol Varsalona
    January 22, 2021 at 7:01 pm (3 years ago)

    Kay, I am so thrilled to read your inspirational thoughts again. It has been a long time since we corresponded. Your last line rings with peace. May you shine on in your goodness!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      January 23, 2021 at 10:38 am (3 years ago)

      Thanks, Carol. It’s good to be back in this community and in conversation with all.

      Reply
  11. Linda Baie
    January 22, 2021 at 6:21 pm (3 years ago)

    I love this affirmation, Kay. Poetry Friday posts this week are full of joy! Thank you!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      January 23, 2021 at 10:37 am (3 years ago)

      Thanks, Linda. I am relishing in all the joy this week, too!

      Reply
  12. Tabatha
    January 22, 2021 at 9:12 am (3 years ago)

    Lovely and uplifting!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      January 22, 2021 at 4:58 pm (3 years ago)

      Thanks, Tabatha

      Reply
  13. Irene Latham
    January 22, 2021 at 8:54 am (3 years ago)

    Kay, I love this poem so much! It fits right in with the Artist’s Way, too, which I’m in the process of experiencing again. “you called me good” xo

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      January 22, 2021 at 4:58 pm (3 years ago)

      Thanks, Irene. It is has been years since I worked through the Artist’s Way. I feel like I’m missing out–I know several people going through it now.

      Reply

Leave a Reply