Poetry Friday: Poetry Gifts

It is good to be back with the Poetry Friday community. I took the summer off to soak up time with my daughter before she moved to Birmingham, Alabama, for graduate school last weekend. We also had a friend of hers, an international student from her college, stay with us through the pandemic. He headed off to Texas for graduate school, too, and the house is very quiet this week.

I am grateful for Tabatha Yeatts for organizing the summer poetry swap. I have enjoyed seeing the swaps and taking part for the first time last summer. When I signed up for this summer, I had no idea how much I would need and appreciate the gifts of poetry. Thank  you, Tabatha, for giving me the commitment to write poetry for someone this summer. And thank you to Iphigene and Tabatha for your gifts of poetry.

It is amazing that both poetry gifts focused on birds–how did they know how much I have enjoyed watching and listening to the birds around our house, especially on the morning walks with my daughter. First, I received this wisdom from Tabatha:

And then Iphigene send more birds winging my way with her sketches and poem:

OnWhyBirdsMatter

Click the link above for more beautiful sketches that illustrate the poem.

A Yellow Vented Bulbul

A Large Billed Philippine  Crow

What birds have flown across your path this summer?

Each Friday, I am excited to take part in Poetry Friday, where writers share their love of all things poetry. Lauta hosts the Poetry Friday Roundup today at Writing the World for Kids.She shares a playful poem about a puffer fish and offers warm encouragement to poets . Hurry over and check out all the poetry morsels offered up today.

21 Comments on Poetry Friday: Poetry Gifts

  1. Carol M Varsalona
    August 10, 2020 at 1:00 pm (4 years ago)

    Your assortment of bird-related poetry, images, and sketches is wonderful, Kay. Many thanks for your sharing of these delights. It is a gift to us, too. I have been waiting for your return to PF. Glad you are back.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      September 6, 2020 at 11:26 am (4 years ago)

      Thanks, Carol. It’s good to be back.

      Reply
  2. Michelle Kogan
    August 10, 2020 at 12:53 am (4 years ago)

    Thanks for sharing these gorgeous treasures of poem and art Kay! The birds have carried me through the pandemic and I will look to them to continue on. There seemed to be an abundance of broods this season too. Wishing your daughter well.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      September 6, 2020 at 11:26 am (4 years ago)

      Thanks. I always enjoy your sketches and paintings of birds.

      Reply
  3. Molly Hogan
    August 7, 2020 at 7:59 pm (4 years ago)

    Birds are such a source of solace and hope. How wonderful that you were gifted with art and poetry inspired by them and such beautiful swap creativity! We’ve had my youngest at home this summer along with one of her friends. It’s lovely having them here and I know it will take some adjustment when they leave. It’s so nice to see you back!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      September 6, 2020 at 11:25 am (4 years ago)

      Thanks, Molly. I’m enjoying your bird and nature photos!

      Reply
  4. Laura Purdie Salas
    August 7, 2020 at 6:12 pm (4 years ago)

    Dang, this Poetry Friday Community is talented in so very many ways. Thank you for sharing these amazing swaps:>)

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      September 6, 2020 at 11:25 am (4 years ago)

      Oh, they are talented!

      Reply
  5. Ruth
    August 7, 2020 at 3:47 pm (4 years ago)

    I love your bird-related swaps! I have found the birds so comforting during this pandemic, too.
    Ruth, thereisnosuchthingasagodforsakentown.blogspot.com

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      September 6, 2020 at 11:25 am (4 years ago)

      Thanks. Birds have been a blessing through these months

      Reply
  6. Bridget Magee
    August 7, 2020 at 10:11 am (4 years ago)

    Holy wow, both Tabatha’s poem and Iphigene’s artwork are quite the ‘flights of fancy’! Thank you for sharing your gifts. 🙂

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      September 6, 2020 at 11:24 am (4 years ago)

      They are both gorgeous!

      Reply
  7. Linda Baie
    August 7, 2020 at 9:14 am (4 years ago)

    What beautiful gifts at just the right time, Kay. Nature has been a big part of my life these months, knowing the birds and bees are carrying on! Sorry about your quiet house. As we near autumn, things will change for many. My grandson is on his way back to college leaving his home after this long, long hiatus no one planned. Nice that you are back. I took July off & it’s lovely to read how others are faring.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      August 7, 2020 at 10:00 am (4 years ago)

      It is lovely to be back and to see what others have been doing and writing. I am grateful for the gifts nature — and poetry friends — offer.

      Reply
  8. Kathryn Apel
    August 7, 2020 at 8:35 am (4 years ago)

    I have been to that pond with Tabatha. Oh how wonderful it was to read her words and step there again. And wonderful poetry and art from Iphigene! How fortunate you were in your gifting. (Bird wings (and songs) are lifting our hearts these days.)

    Reply
    • Kathryn Apel
      August 7, 2020 at 8:38 am (4 years ago)

      Oh – and feeling for you in your quiet house again. It is always a little bit heartbreak when they go, yes? But wonderful you were able to devote your time to special moments over your summer.

      Reply
      • Mrs. McGriff
        August 7, 2020 at 9:59 am (4 years ago)

        Thanks, Kathryn. I haven’t had the opportunity to travel to the pond except through poetry, but still enjoy it. I have been blessed with birds this summer. And yes, there is a little sadness at seeing the go along with excitement for them.

        Reply
  9. Tabatha
    August 7, 2020 at 7:50 am (4 years ago)

    What an amazing artist Iphigene is! I love the eye contact her birds are making with us. That is funny that we were both thinking about birds for you. 🙂 Glad you had a chance to recharge your quality-time batteries with your daughter. xo

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      August 7, 2020 at 9:57 am (4 years ago)

      Thanks, Tabatha–I am amazed at Iphigene’s talent. Those sketches look like they could fly off the screen. I think I should be listening to the birds. There’s obviously a message from them somewhere!

      Reply
  10. Linda Mitchell
    August 7, 2020 at 7:18 am (4 years ago)

    What beautiful bird drawings! I love them. I drove my sophomore back to school yesterday. I have to admit, having her home these months of the pandemic have been great for me. She’s been a great comfort and friend. The house is pretty quiet here right now too. Supposed with fill up some writing time? Have a great day. It’s good — so good to see you back.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      August 7, 2020 at 9:55 am (4 years ago)

      Me, too, Linda. I loved having my daughter — and our new kid — home for these months. I’m excited for both of them as they start these new journeys, but am adjusting to the quiet. I am hoping to fill up some time with writing and creativity.

      Reply

Leave a Reply