Poetry Friday: Craters

I have enjoyed the prompts — pictures, videos, articles and more — in Laura Shovan’s February Daily Poem Project. But I have not been able to keep up this week. Life has come too fast. At the first of the week, we learned of the deaths of two friends, and my heart has been heavy. I am grateful for my community that comes together in times of grief and crisis and for poetry that gives me ways to process all the feelings. This photo of Crater Lake shared by Alice Tabor-Nine provided a metaphor just when I needed it.

 

Craters

a heart erupts
with grief
spewing ashes
of loss
that cover life,
leaving
a gaping hole.
Overtime,
love filters
through icy days
to fill the craters
with love
again.

Each Friday, I am excited to take part in Poetry Friday, where writers share their love of all things poetry. Karen hosts the Poetry Friday Roundup today at Karen Edmisten. She offers a peace offering to February with a poem by Jane Hirshfield. Hurry over and check out all the poetry morsels offered up today.

17 Comments on Poetry Friday: Craters

  1. Michelle Kogan
    March 4, 2020 at 1:49 am (4 years ago)

    Beautiful and timely poem Kay, it sure fits. So sorry to hear about your friends, sending some hugs and thoughts belatedly your way.

    Reply
  2. Buffy Silverman
    March 2, 2020 at 11:08 pm (4 years ago)

    So sorry about the loss of your friends. Hoping love filters through your days…

    Reply
  3. Karen Edmisten
    March 1, 2020 at 1:54 pm (4 years ago)

    Kay, I am so very, very sorry for such a devastating loss. I, too, process grief through writing. There is a beautiful note of hope in your poem.

    Again, I’m so sorry! Hugs.

    Reply
  4. Karen Eastlund
    March 1, 2020 at 1:27 am (4 years ago)

    I’m glad you could respond to your grief with these words, and I’m so sorry for your losses. I wish you solace and thank you for sharing.

    Reply
  5. Carol Varsalona
    March 1, 2020 at 12:33 am (4 years ago)

    Kay, I am so sorry for your loss. Life is fragile and uncertain. I have had 6 friends pass away in a year and a half. The hurt stings each time so your poem with a heart erupting is a beautiful analogy for grief.

    Reply
  6. Margaret
    February 29, 2020 at 11:53 pm (4 years ago)

    Isn’t it true that poetry heals. Your poem expresses the hole that loss brings. I’m so sorry for your loss.

    Reply
  7. Molly Hogan
    February 29, 2020 at 2:05 pm (4 years ago)

    I am so, so sorry to hear about your loss, Kay. I hope that writing this poem helped ease some of your grief, or at least process it. I will be thinking of you.

    Reply
  8. Linda Baie
    February 29, 2020 at 12:41 am (4 years ago)

    How did I miss this, Kay. My week was filled, too, so I guess I just missed it. I am sorry for your loss of two friends, and the crater certainly fits to me. What a poignant poem of love you wrote for them. And then the filling up means you have hope, too. “Love filters through icy days”. That is lovely.

    Reply
  9. Tim Kulp
    February 28, 2020 at 9:01 pm (4 years ago)

    Thank you for sharing this Kay. Your poem reminded me of the end of Fantasia 2000 when the spring fairy faces the volcano.

    Reply
  10. Linda Mitchell
    February 28, 2020 at 8:07 pm (4 years ago)

    Comment

    Reply
  11. Kathryn Apel
    February 28, 2020 at 7:43 pm (4 years ago)

    Oh, hugs, Kay. It is so hard to lose people who are dear to us. I’m so glad you have friends to love and support you – and beautiful memories of times spent with the friends you have lost.

    Reply
  12. Janice scully
    February 28, 2020 at 6:16 pm (4 years ago)

    I too am so sorry for your losses. And the poem is a lovely metaphor for what you are and will be going through.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      February 29, 2020 at 9:26 am (4 years ago)

      Thanks, Janice.

      Reply
  13. Laura Shovan
    February 28, 2020 at 1:41 pm (4 years ago)

    I am so sorry for your losses, Kay. I’m glad the poetry month provides some comfort.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      February 28, 2020 at 3:46 pm (4 years ago)

      Thanks, Laura. Poetry definitely helps.

      Reply
  14. jama
    February 28, 2020 at 11:36 am (4 years ago)

    So sorry to hear about your friends’ deaths, Kay (with all the bad news these days, personal losses become even harder to bear). I like that your poem ends on a hopeful note despite its expression of grief.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      February 28, 2020 at 3:44 pm (4 years ago)

      Thanks, Jama. Loss is never easy, but I am grateful for friends who walk alongside.

      Reply

Leave a Reply