Poetry Friday: Mother Earth and more postcards!

I’m looking forward to taking part again in Laura Shovan’s 6th Annual February Poetry Project. You can read about it’s past and present incarnation here. This year’s theme is Ekphrastic At Home. Different poets will share a photo of art (any and all kinds of art count) for a daily prompt. I’ve enjoyed reading such poetry, but have not tried writing much myself. I’m looking forward to the challenge. The best part (besides the daily habit of writing in the midst of a supportive community) is seeing all the different poems that come from one piece of art.

We have a week of warmups before February officially starts, so here is my very first ekphrastic poem, inspired by a portrait create by Joy Dickson.

MOTHER EARTH

Mother Earth
reflects back
the care
you bestow
upon her.
Hold her tenderly
so she will
nurture
and nourish
you for
generations
to come.

I also receive more lovely postcards from the postcard exchange organized by Jone Rush MacCullough. Aren’t they lovely?

Christie Wyman shared a lovely haiku and painting to bless the new year:

matsu leaves of green
longevity, virtue, youth
blessing your new year
~Christie Wyman

Sally Murphy sent these greetings from Down Under:

A new year
Is an unopened gift
A letter in the mail
A crisp new notebook
A story yet to be written
~Sally Murphy

Michelle Kogan sent a whole envelop of goodies:

Soar far and high
with open heart
and ready hands
~Michelle Kogan

Each Friday, I am excited to take part in Poetry Friday, where writers share their love of all things poetry. Carol hosts the Poetry Friday Roundup today at Beyond Literacy Link!  Don’t miss out on her invitation to share in the Winter Wonderland Gallery! Drop by and see what poetry morsels are offered this week.

39 Comments on Poetry Friday: Mother Earth and more postcards!

  1. Michelle Kogan
    January 29, 2018 at 1:36 am (6 years ago)

    I love this ekphrastic poem you wrote reminding us our connection to Mother Nature and how important it is that we take care of her. Thanks Kay!

    Reply
  2. Keri Collins Lewis
    January 28, 2018 at 8:32 pm (6 years ago)

    Good luck with the Feb. challenge! It is going to be a fun one!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      January 28, 2018 at 9:41 pm (6 years ago)

      Thanks, Keri! Good luck with your writing!

      Reply
  3. Tabatha
    January 28, 2018 at 5:03 pm (6 years ago)

    I like your take on the painting, Kay. It’s been fun to see all the different perspectives!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      January 28, 2018 at 9:41 pm (6 years ago)

      Thanks, Tabatha. I’ve been so inspired by everyone’s poems.

      Reply
  4. Margaret Simon
    January 28, 2018 at 9:26 am (6 years ago)

    Your Mother Earth poem is beautiful and poignant. I must’ve seen it in the comments and been inspired because I wrote about Mother Earth as well. These poetry projects sustain us and keep us inspired to write.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      January 28, 2018 at 9:41 pm (6 years ago)

      Thank you, Margaret. I saw yours, too, as well as others. Even though they jumped off with Mother Earth, each one was different too.

      Reply
  5. Carol Varsalona
    January 27, 2018 at 11:30 pm (6 years ago)

    Kay, our writing community always provides us with support and good cheer. I am fortunate to be inspired by all. Your Mother Earth poem is full of positivity and your poetry postcards are all wonderful.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      January 28, 2018 at 9:40 pm (6 years ago)

      Thank you, Carol. It is such a supportive and encouraging community. I’m glad to be a part of it.

      Reply
  6. Robyn Hood Black
    January 27, 2018 at 11:12 pm (6 years ago)

    Wonderful, Kay – all of it! Thanks for sharing your warm-up poem and the uplifting postcards, too. Wishing you lots of inspiration and creative stamina for Feb. and beyond!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      January 28, 2018 at 9:39 pm (6 years ago)

      Thank you, Robyn. I’m hoping I last better than last year. (I’ve finally finished all the the daily challenges but one)

      Reply
  7. Kiesha Shepard
    January 27, 2018 at 2:01 pm (6 years ago)

    Such gifts! “A new year is an unopened gift” so true!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      January 28, 2018 at 9:39 pm (6 years ago)

      Thanks, Keisha. I thought that line was just perfect when I received it!

      Reply
  8. Diane Mayr
    January 27, 2018 at 11:08 am (6 years ago)

    So much delightful poetry. Keep writing. Keep sharing! Many thanks, Kay.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      January 27, 2018 at 12:56 pm (6 years ago)

      Thanks, Diane! My goal for this year is to be braver about sharing more writing and submitting more for publication.

      Reply
  9. Mary Lee Hahn
    January 27, 2018 at 9:27 am (6 years ago)

    I agree that one of the best parts of Laura’s challenges are reading all the poems that come from one prompt. Love that you saw Mother Nature and spoke an important message about her.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      January 27, 2018 at 12:56 pm (6 years ago)

      Thank you, Mary Lee. I’m blown away by the creativity. There is no shortage of inspiration!

      Reply
  10. Myra from GatheringBooks
    January 27, 2018 at 7:01 am (6 years ago)

    It does fill the heart seeing postcards in the mail -in a world that is riddled with emails, this right here is a balm to the soul. Gorgeous post!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      January 27, 2018 at 12:57 pm (6 years ago)

      Thanks, Myra. I enjoy seeing the postcards that everyone else receives as much as getting them myself!

      Reply
  11. Jane @ Raincity Librarian
    January 27, 2018 at 12:45 am (6 years ago)

    What a lovely poem, and this poetry project sounds like a great challenge!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      January 27, 2018 at 12:55 pm (6 years ago)

      Thank you, Jane. The challenge should be a lot of fun, too. I’m already blown away by what’s being shared in the warm up.

      Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      January 27, 2018 at 12:54 pm (6 years ago)

      Thank you, Michelle. I will check out Laura’s post. I can use all the help I can get to learn more.

      Reply
  12. Donna Smith
    January 26, 2018 at 10:51 pm (6 years ago)

    Love your tender nurturing and nourishing take on the art! It is going to be a challenge keeping up with the reading – and I thought it would be a challenge writing!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      January 27, 2018 at 12:54 pm (6 years ago)

      Thank you, Donna. Yes, it is going to be a challenge to keep up with reading everyone’s poems. If get behind, I know I can browse through them later as well.

      Reply
  13. Linda Mitchell
    January 26, 2018 at 8:15 pm (6 years ago)

    I am already wowed by the February project. I have not been able to keep up with all the comments that are still pouring in from today’s prompt. The poems are all so interesting and good and the comments back and forth are so supportive and lovely. It’s a real treat. I’m so glad I joined. And, yes…the postcard exchange. I’m so glad I signed up.See you on the internets, Kay! It’s really fun to be writing with you.
    https://awordedgewiselindamitchell.blogspot.com/

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      January 26, 2018 at 8:45 pm (6 years ago)

      Thanks, Linda! I know what you mean about trying to keep up. I am reading all the poems and commenting as I can. I learn so much from just hanging out and seeing what everyone else is doing. Happy writing to you!

      Reply
  14. Kathryn Apel
    January 26, 2018 at 7:56 pm (6 years ago)

    Your first ekphrastic poem is beautiful, Kay. Looking forward to reading more of your responses throughout the month.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      January 26, 2018 at 8:44 pm (6 years ago)

      Thanks, Kathryn. I’m looking forward to writing more!

      Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      January 27, 2018 at 12:53 pm (6 years ago)

      Yes, it did–and it is lovely. I’m so glad I signed up this year.

      Reply
  15. Carol Varsalona
    January 26, 2018 at 6:55 pm (6 years ago)

    Kay, our poetry community is thriving and sending all sorts of inspiration out into the world. Your poem is gentling unfolding your message of care for the earth. Love the poetry gifts.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      January 27, 2018 at 12:53 pm (6 years ago)

      Thank you, Carol. And thank you for all you do to nourish our poetry community!

      Reply
  16. Brenda
    January 26, 2018 at 2:01 pm (6 years ago)

    I’m also looking forward to the February celebration of poetry with Laura. Great poem. I love the art that came in the mail. Michelle sent me a package, too, so terrific.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      January 26, 2018 at 6:41 pm (6 years ago)

      Thanks, Brenda. I look forward to seeing your poems in response to the art. It’s definitely going to stretch me.

      Reply
  17. jama
    January 26, 2018 at 12:36 pm (6 years ago)

    Lovely poem, good reminder to care for Mother Earth, especially in these days when protections and regulations are being rolled back in favor of more corporate invasion. Have fun with the February ekphrastic challenge. 🙂

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      January 26, 2018 at 6:40 pm (6 years ago)

      Thanks, Jama. I do worry about our Mother Earth and do what I can to nurture her.

      Reply
  18. Irene Latham
    January 26, 2018 at 8:51 am (6 years ago)

    Hold her tenderly, indeed! Thank you for all these treasures… inspiring! xo

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      January 26, 2018 at 9:09 am (6 years ago)

      Thanks, Irene. The postcards have provided many treasures this month.

      Reply

Leave a Reply