Poetry Friday: Lost Slippers

A couple of weeks ago, Linda at A Word Edgewise offered a first line swap when she hosted Poetry Friday. The post included a smorgasbord of intriguing first lines and inspirational images too prompt writing. All were free for the taking–in exchange for a first line left behind.

Since my life is currently being overwhelmed by produce from our too–large garden (No matter what my husband says, 50 tomato plants is too many!), I grabbed the line “Mother Nature lost her slippers…” I knew just where she had lost them–under the sprawling vines of tomatoes, cucumbers, melons, squash…and maybe a few weeds.

Lost Slippers

Mother Nature lost her slippers
somewhere in the garden
where plants are growing wild
before the ground begins to harden.

Cucumber and melon vines grab
her ankles while tomatoes sprawl
Zucchini and yellow squash grow
and grow and grow until the Fall.

Maybe once the harvest’s done
and frost has nipped the leaves–
maybe then she’ll find her slippers
perched atop the sheaves.

Each Friday, I am excited to take part in Poetry Friday, where writers share their love of all things poetry. Margaret has the Poetry Friday Roundup today at Reflections on the Teche. This week she is hosting a first line swap that shares lots of inspiration! Take a line, leave a line–as many as you like. Stop by and see what poetry morsels are offered this week. 

27 Comments on Poetry Friday: Lost Slippers

  1. Michelle Kogan
    August 17, 2017 at 1:43 am (7 years ago)

    Kay, this is wonderful, hope she finds her slippers after the freeze … Any suggestions for zucchini that has lots of big, wonderful flowers but alas no zucchini’s growing.

    Reply
  2. Jane @ Raincity Librarian
    August 13, 2017 at 1:27 pm (7 years ago)

    As a city slicker in a teeny-tiny apartment without even space for a balcony garden, I’m just drooooooling over the idea of all that garden-fresh goodness!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      August 14, 2017 at 6:56 pm (7 years ago)

      I would love to share! We have plenty as you can see.

      Reply
  3. Christie Wyman
    August 13, 2017 at 10:06 am (7 years ago)

    Sadly the slippers Mother Nature wore on her visit to my garden were savagely eaten off her feet by one hungry groundhog. Living vicariously through your kitchen adventures!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      August 14, 2017 at 6:55 pm (7 years ago)

      Oh no! So far no hungry groundhogs, but we have caught hungry raccoons raiding the corn.

      Reply
  4. Brenda Harsham
    August 13, 2017 at 9:43 am (7 years ago)

    I love those images. I think my spices may have stolen my wits. I could spend hours smelling the mint, thyme and sage.

    What a lot of work canning it. It will taste divine this winter. Good for you.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      August 14, 2017 at 6:55 pm (7 years ago)

      Yummy…mint, sage, and thyme are delicious aromas.

      Reply
  5. Tabatha
    August 13, 2017 at 5:23 am (7 years ago)

    I got a kick out of this, Kay! Those vines do seem like they are ankle-grabbers, don’t they? Nice rhythm.
    I’m impressed by your harvest!! (Garden-grown tomatoes taste so much better than store-bought — they’re like a whole different food!)

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      August 14, 2017 at 6:54 pm (7 years ago)

      I’m glad you enjoyed it, Tabatha! And yes, fresh tomatoes from the garden are the bees knees!

      Reply
  6. Diane Mayr
    August 12, 2017 at 9:02 pm (7 years ago)

    Rhyme and rhythm suit you, Kay! I love how your poem bounces along.

    If I lived closer, I’d be over in a heartbeat to pick up your extra tomatoes! Fresh tomatoes (and peaches) are the best part of summer!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      August 14, 2017 at 6:53 pm (7 years ago)

      Thanks, Diane. Rhyme and rhythm are not easy for me to write. We have plenty of tomatoes to share. My husband got a little carried away. He planted 49 tomato plants!

      Reply
  7. Molly Hogan
    August 12, 2017 at 7:54 pm (7 years ago)

    I love that Mother Nature lost her slippers midst the bounty in your garden. Those first lines continue to inspire all sorts of posts and poetry. Thanks for sharing yours and enjoy the salsa!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      August 14, 2017 at 6:52 pm (7 years ago)

      Thanks, Molly! We are enjoying tomatoes in all kinds of ways, including the salsa!

      Reply
  8. Violet N.
    August 12, 2017 at 6:28 pm (7 years ago)

    Perfect poem for Mother N! And it looks like you are in for a spicy winter. (I must say, my once-green thumb is a bit jealous.)

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      August 14, 2017 at 6:52 pm (7 years ago)

      Thanks, Violet! I have a confession: my husband does most of the garden work. I get to help and enjoy it!

      Reply
  9. Donna Smith
    August 12, 2017 at 3:15 pm (7 years ago)

    Some great poems are sprouting from these lines! Love where Mother Nature misplaced those slippers this time!
    I traded a line, too – a different one. I may post part of the poem the second week in September.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      August 12, 2017 at 3:37 pm (7 years ago)

      Thanks, Donna. I’ve lost my own flip flops there more than once! I look forward to seeing where your line leads your poem.

      Reply
  10. Linda M.
    August 12, 2017 at 2:56 pm (7 years ago)

    I LOVE THIS!
    It’s so true that when I go out to my garden in slides I lose one to the vines😂
    The rhythm is awesome this should be in print somewhere

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      August 12, 2017 at 3:37 pm (7 years ago)

      Thanks, Linda! I struggled to write this one. I don’t usually try rhyming poems. I’m glad you think it works.

      Reply
  11. Ruth (thereisnosuchthingasagodforsakentown.blogspot.com)
    August 12, 2017 at 10:30 am (7 years ago)

    I liked your poem, and I hope you enjoy your salsa all year!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      August 12, 2017 at 10:39 am (7 years ago)

      Thanks, Ruth. We will enjoy the salsa!

      Reply
  12. JoAnn Early Macken
    August 11, 2017 at 5:49 pm (7 years ago)

    What fun! I love reading what that first line inspired! Happy harvesting!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      August 11, 2017 at 5:58 pm (7 years ago)

      Thank you! It was fun to write (and to eat all that goodness, too)

      Reply
  13. Kiesha Shepard
    August 11, 2017 at 4:14 pm (7 years ago)

    What a neat first line, Kay! I love nature personified!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      August 11, 2017 at 4:23 pm (7 years ago)

      It was a great first line-wish I could take credit for it, but it did inspire me!

      Reply
  14. Linda Baie
    August 11, 2017 at 10:48 am (7 years ago)

    I wrote from this line last week, Kay. You’ve done a wonderful job with it. It is intriguing to imagine, isn’t it?

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      August 11, 2017 at 12:30 pm (7 years ago)

      Thanks, Linda. It is intriguing to imagine.

      Reply

Leave a Reply