Poetry Friday: With Apologies to Elizabeth Barrett Browning

This month I’m taking part in Laura Shovan’s annual poem project, which invites poets to write a poem a day during the month of February. This month’s challenge is #10FoundWords. Each day someone from the community shares a news story, speech or current event and chooses ten words from it for us to use to write a poem. You can find out more about it here and still join in the fun.

I’m over halfway through the month-long poetry challenge, and it’s still hard. It’s also lots of fun, especially as I’ve tried on different voices in different poems. Even better is reading the wide variety of good poems using the same set of ten words.  It also helps that I’m in Puerto Rico for a week, soaking up lots of sun. I will catch up on reading and commenting once I return.

As soon as I saw the article and ten words for Valentine’s Day, I knew exactly what I wanted to do. I don’t go for sappy or sweet Valentine’s Day cards or romantic poetry, but I have always loved Elizabeth Barrett Browning’s “How Do I Love Thee? (Sonnet 43).” What could be more fun than a spoof of it? Especially when I saw the word “multi billion.” Even though I felt slightly guilty at what I was doing to a classic poem, I had fun with it. I hope you enjoy it, too.

With Apologies to Elizabeth Barrett Browning

How do I love thee? Let me count the multi-billion ways.
I love thee to the depth and breadth and height
my purse can spend when chasing out of stores
For the end of sweetness and perfect deals.
I love thee to the level of each commercial’s
Most romantic dinner, by sun and candlelight.
I love thee freely, as I seek the perfect card.
I love thee purely, as I declare undying love.
I love thee with the passion that fires up
My old dreams and hides within my personal disguise.
I love thee with a love I seem to lose
with my hefty bills. I love thee with the candy,
cards, flowers, of all my gifts, and if we choose,
I shall but love thee better after this is done.

Here are the words and link to the article:

Happy Valentine’s Day! Heather Meloche is our word finder. Thanks, Heather.

#10FoundWords

sweetness
disguise
romantic
declare
chase
fire up
commercial
hefty
spend
personal

BONUS: multibillion

Source: Valentine’s Day, so lucrative for business, has a naughty history

Each Friday, I am excited to take part in Poetry Friday, where writers share their love of all things poetry. Jone has the Poetry Friday Roundup today at  Check It Out. Drop by and see what poetry morsels are offered this week.

13 Comments on Poetry Friday: With Apologies to Elizabeth Barrett Browning

  1. jone
    February 28, 2017 at 12:51 pm (7 years ago)

    Thank you for this morning’s smile.

    Reply
  2. Mary Lee Hahn
    February 19, 2017 at 10:32 am (7 years ago)

    HA! Very fun, but also a snarky look at the commercialization of love.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      February 24, 2017 at 9:31 am (7 years ago)

      Thanks!

      Reply
  3. Carol Varsalona
    February 18, 2017 at 12:13 am (7 years ago)

    Multi-billion ways to love Valentine’s Day and love itself. I truly enjoyed your poem, Kay, and yes, i agree that this is a hard challenge. Sometimes, I step away from my drafts and wonder if I really want them to go public but vulnerability is fine in the company of friends.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      February 24, 2017 at 9:30 am (7 years ago)

      Thanks! Like you, I am thankful for the supportive community

      Reply
  4. Leigh Anne
    February 17, 2017 at 8:22 pm (7 years ago)

    What a fun poem! I have been so amazed at everyone’s responses to this challenge. This seems like a difficult thing to do but I guess that is why they call it a challenge!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      February 24, 2017 at 9:30 am (7 years ago)

      Thanks! I had fun writing this one.

      Reply
  5. Linda Baie
    February 17, 2017 at 7:44 pm (7 years ago)

    It really is a wonder of a response, Kay. Love “when all this is done” and so many other lines!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      February 24, 2017 at 9:30 am (7 years ago)

      Thanks!

      Reply
  6. Kiesha Shepard
    February 17, 2017 at 4:57 pm (7 years ago)

    Well done, Kay! No apologies are necessary if you ask me!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      February 24, 2017 at 9:30 am (7 years ago)

      Thanks!

      Reply
  7. Bridget Magee
    February 17, 2017 at 2:08 pm (7 years ago)

    I think Elizabeth Barrett Browning would love your poem ‘multi-billion’ times over. =)

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      February 24, 2017 at 9:29 am (7 years ago)

      Thanks!

      Reply

Leave a Reply