The Procrastinator

Blank pages stare
right back at me.
I tap my pen
and hope to see
a way to end my great distress.
It’s all my fault–
I must confess.
I knew I had
this page to write,
but put if off
for one more night.
Now here I sit
with no more time
to waste away
before I rhyme.

After watching and reading the April poetry challenge by Mary Lee Hahn at A Year of Readingfor the past several years, I decided to write a poem a day this month. Mary Lee is hosting PO-EMotion, with a different emotion for each day of the month. Today’s focus is DISTRESS. For even more poetry fun throughout April, check out the roundup of poetry celebrations and projects at Jama’s Alphabet Soup.

4 Comments on The Procrastinator

  1. Mary Lee
    April 25, 2015 at 8:48 am (9 years ago)

    One of my favorite genres of writing — a composition about not being able to write!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      April 25, 2015 at 8:50 pm (9 years ago)

      Sometime that’s my fallback genre, but I have experienced enough distress from procrastination to make it a natural for this emotion.

      Reply
  2. Linda Baie
    April 24, 2015 at 11:59 pm (9 years ago)

    I missed this this am, Kay. How great you captured the feeling, ugh, of putting it all off. Nice rhyming, too!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      April 25, 2015 at 8:48 pm (9 years ago)

      Thanks, Linda. I don’t usually rhyme, but I’m trying to experiment this month.

      Reply

Leave a Reply