Invisible Trails

The dog
trots beside me
until she sniffs
a scent
and follows her nose
along an invisible path
that twists and circles
through the grass.
Ears perk up
and tail wags high
as she searches
for the swish of a squirrel
that remains just
out of reach.

PO-EMotions graphicAfter watching and reading the April poetry challenge by Mary Lee Hahn at A Year of Readingfor the past several years, I decided to write a poem a day this month. Mary Lee is hosting PO-EMotion, with a different emotion for each day of the month. Today’s focus is INTEREST. For even more poetry fun throughout April, check out the roundup of poetry celebrations and projects at Jama’s Alphabet Soup.

8 Comments on Invisible Trails

  1. Carol
    April 20, 2015 at 5:46 am (9 years ago)

    What a great snapshot! I love the “swish of a squirrel.”I could have written this one. Except I would have had to have a stanza about yanking my owner’s arm out of the socket every time I found an interesting smell. And one about trying to roll in the really interesting smells, like dead animals!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      April 20, 2015 at 6:57 pm (9 years ago)

      I could have added stanzas about arm yanking and rolling in dead stuff, but I wanted to avoid the more unpleasant aspects.

      Reply
  2. Carol Varsalona (@cvarsalona)
    April 19, 2015 at 5:50 pm (9 years ago)

    You got my interest in this poem, Kay!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      April 19, 2015 at 6:26 pm (9 years ago)

      Thank you!

      Reply
  3. Linda Baie
    April 19, 2015 at 8:59 am (9 years ago)

    Squirrels probably love eluding dogs, ‘swishing their tails’, laughing inside at the dogs frantically looking. A good poem for high interest, Kay.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      April 19, 2015 at 4:55 pm (9 years ago)

      I’m sure the squirrels are laughing. I’m not sure the dog would quite know what to do if she ever caught one, either.

      Reply
  4. Mary Lee
    April 19, 2015 at 5:53 am (9 years ago)

    Wouldn’t it be INTERESTing to experience the world the way dogs do? To be able to follow those invisible trails of scent…

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      April 19, 2015 at 4:54 pm (9 years ago)

      Yes it would! I always wonder what she finds so fascinating when she sniffs along the ground.

      Reply

Leave a Reply