Ode to Morning Mocha

IMG_20150414_082633706Ground and roasted
beans percolate
through water
to brew an elixir
whose earthy scent wafts
down the hall,
fills my dreams
with landscapes
from Africa and Arabia,
and tickles my nose
to draw me out of bed.

I pour the brew
into my favorite mug
and stir in powder
ground from cocoa beans
that echo
the might of the Mayans
descended through the centuries.

Cupping the mug in my hands,
I inhale the exotic aroma
and sip the liquid warmth,
letting it spread
and fill me with energy
to begin my day.

PO-EMotions graphicAfter watching and reading the April poetry challenge by Mary Lee Hahn at A Year of Readingfor the past several years, I decided to write a poem a day this month. Mary Lee is hosting PO-EMotion, with a different emotion for each day of the month. Today’s focus is DESIRE. For even more poetry fun throughout April, check out the roundup of poetry celebrations and projects at Jama’s Alphabet Soup.

4 Comments on Ode to Morning Mocha

  1. Kimberley Moran
    April 15, 2015 at 6:46 am (9 years ago)

    Yum, my favorite part of the day too!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      April 15, 2015 at 7:11 am (9 years ago)

      I’ve had my mocha this morning and am now ready to go!

      Reply
  2. Mary Lee
    April 14, 2015 at 6:52 pm (9 years ago)

    Ahhh…I can just taste it, smell it, feel the mug in my hands…ahhhh!!!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      April 14, 2015 at 7:17 pm (9 years ago)

      It gets me going in the mornings. My daughter says I’m addicted. I say bring on my mocha!

      Reply

Leave a Reply