Missing Pages

European Robin, London

By Keven Law [CC BY-SA 2.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0)], via Wikimedia Commons

I crept under the coats
to the back of the warbdrobe
a hundred times,
but I never found
a way past the solid oak
wall to where a lamppost
shone in a snowy woods.
I lashed together skinny logs
to build a raft that would float
down the mighty Mississippi,
but the logs swam apart
as I pushed my pole off the creek bank.
I followed chirping robins
along a dozen garden paths,
but I never found a buried key
that unlocked a door hidden
behind a swaying curtain of ivy
to reveal a secret garden.
I never found a way
to cross the bridge to Terebithia,
but still I look.

PO-EMotions graphicAfter watching and reading the April poetry challenge by Mary Lee Hahn at A Year of Readingfor the past several years, I decided to write a poem a day this month. Mary Lee is hosting PO-EMotion, with a different emotion for each day of the month. Today’s focus is DEJECTION. For even more poetry fun throughout April, check out the roundup of poetry celebrations and projects at Jama’s Alphabet Soup.

2 Comments on Missing Pages

  1. Mary Lee
    April 11, 2015 at 6:15 am (9 years ago)

    Yes, yes, yes! LOVE your title!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      April 11, 2015 at 6:44 am (9 years ago)

      Thanks! I would love to visit the worlds I discover in books.

      Reply

Leave a Reply