Acceptance

Red-tailed Hawk at Shoreline Park

Credit: Don DeBold – Red-tailed Hawk at Shoreline Park (no changes to photo)

A maple leaf drops
into the swirling current,
spins and floats downstream.

A red-tailed hawk floats
in lazy spirals, riding
invisible currents.

Why can’t I accept
life’s currents with similar
grace to soar with peace.

PO-EMotions graphicAfter watching and reading the April poetry challenge by Mary Lee Hahn at A Year of Readingfor the past several years, I decided to write a poem a day this month. Mary Lee is hosting PO-EMotion, with a different emotion for each day of the month. Today’s focus is ACCEPTANCE. For even more poetry fun throughout April, check out the roundup of poetry celebrations and projects at Jama’s Alphabet Soup.

8 Comments on Acceptance

  1. Steve Peterson
    April 7, 2015 at 9:27 pm (9 years ago)

    I love watching those birds, too. Seem to soar all day without a flap of the wings. I loved the tie in with currents, the wonderful images of soaring. Thank you!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      April 8, 2015 at 8:14 am (9 years ago)

      I’m glad you liked it. The hawks are beautiful to watch.

      Reply
  2. Kimberley Moran
    April 7, 2015 at 11:12 am (9 years ago)

    Acceptance is not something I take easily. I always think I can change it back. Ah to soar instead and let the breeze guide me. Thanks for the lovely image today.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      April 7, 2015 at 12:46 pm (9 years ago)

      I have the same issue with acceptance. I’m trying to remember the image of the hawk soaring.

      Reply
  3. Carol
    April 7, 2015 at 7:02 am (9 years ago)

    Every weekend, I drive 130 miles to visit my mom in a neighboring city. I always watch the hawks as I drive. This weekend, and for many more, I will think of your poem. And acceptance. Thank you.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      April 7, 2015 at 10:06 am (9 years ago)

      Thank you. I love watching hawks (and even turkey buzzards) soar on the updrafts. I wish I could join them in their flight.

      Reply
  4. Mary Lee
    April 7, 2015 at 6:39 am (9 years ago)

    I’ll keep that maple leaf and that hawk in mind when life’s currents get rough!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      April 7, 2015 at 10:05 am (9 years ago)

      I’m trying, but I’m afraid I tend to fight the current instead.

      Reply

Leave a Reply