Five Favorite Things

imageI’m taking part in the weekly Slice of Life Challenge sponsored by  Two Writing Teachers, where teachers write and share each Tuesday. Join in yourself or head over to check out what’s happening with other slicers. If you’re taking part in the SOL, leave a link to your post. I’d love to read it.

I’m sitting on the back porch listening to the rain sweep across the grass and trees.  Thunder echoes deep behind the clouds while birds call goodnight to each other.  Cool breezes caress my skin, providing relief from the day’s heat and humidity.  And I smile as I think about my favorite things from the grand opening of our Little Free Library.

1.  The weather cleared!  Earlier Friday afternoon, a thunderstorm exploded overhead, but about an hour before the clouds broke up and blue sky even peeked through.  After we were done, the clouds reappeared, dropping rain on us again.

It was still humid, so my camera lense kept fogging up.

It was still humid, so my camera lense kept fogging up.

2.  People came!  We had no idea if anyone would show up or not.  Several neighbors dropped by along with friends from church.  Most took a book or two home with them.  We all enjoyed the brownies and punch and conversation.

DSC05504

3.  More people donated books!  Another friend had seen news of our LFL and messaged me to ask if I wanted the children’s books left over from her yard sale.  That box was filled with treasures–Madeline, My Side of the Mountain, the Boxcar Children, and Magic Treehouse.  The best part is I get to read the books, too!  Now I may need a warehouse to store them all.

DSC05510

4.  Some visitors surprise us!  One evening while we were reading in the living room, a car we didn’t recognize pulled into the driveway.  Instead of stopping at the library, though, a young woman with a handful of books came to the door.  “These don’t have the stickers in them, so I wanted to give them to you,” she said as she turned back to the car.  (I’ve been putting Free Little Library stickers in the front cover to advertise.)  I’m not worried about the stickers, but I love to see people taking ownership for caring for the books.

 

5.  We are now official!  The day after the Grand Opening, I received my official Steward’s Packet with our sign.  They also sent a lot of helpful information and cool stuff:  bumper sticker, book plates, bookmarks, and even a book for the library.

DSC05507

5 Comments on Five Favorite Things

  1. Leigh Anne
    June 25, 2014 at 8:17 am (10 years ago)

    I think this is such a great idea and obviously your community has embraced it. Good luck as you move forward!

    Reply
  2. Joanne Toft
    June 24, 2014 at 2:22 pm (10 years ago)

    We have lots of these all over Minneapolis. It has been great fun walking the neighborhoods checking out the little libraries. I have borrowed a few and added a few. Such a fun way to share reading and books!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      June 24, 2014 at 4:50 pm (10 years ago)

      I think LFL began in Minnesota. I have never come across one (other than ours), but I suspect I will be looking for them when I travel now.

      Reply
  3. Ramona
    June 24, 2014 at 9:07 am (10 years ago)

    Love reading about your Little Free Library! A student from our high school did one for his senior project, and it’s on one of my favorite walks. I always peek in, sometimes take a book, and love leaving books there for others to enjoy.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      June 24, 2014 at 10:12 am (10 years ago)

      Thanks! It’s been fun to write about and to watch take off.

      Reply

Leave a Reply