Poetry Friday: Daily Haiku

So far, I have kept up with my practice of daily haiku. At the end of the week, I enjoy looking back at the moments captured and now shared. Here are a few from this week, including one with a picture.

row upon row filled
with piles and stacks and bags of stuff
who needs it all

community gathers–
a hodgepodge of citizens–
to honor a dream

a little teapot,
short and flowered, pours
out a cup of calm

And I had one last surprise in the mail with another poetry postcard, from Robert Ertman.

Each Friday, I am excited to take part in Poetry Friday, where writers share their love of all things poetry. Kat hosts the Poetry Friday Roundup today from Down Under at Katherine Apel. She share a couple of delightful poems and good news on the fire and fundraising front in Australia. Hurry over and check out all the poetry morsels offered up today.

22 Comments on Poetry Friday: Daily Haiku

  1. Laura Shovan
    January 31, 2020 at 1:33 pm (4 years ago)

    Those tiny yellow blooms caught my eye and ear. It’s been such a gray winter in MD — thanks for the sunshine.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      January 31, 2020 at 6:29 pm (4 years ago)

      Me, too, Laura. Winter weather has been grey here, too. It was a pleasant surprise to find the blooms–I had no idea this plant would flower.

      Reply
  2. Michelle Kogan
    January 30, 2020 at 5:35 pm (4 years ago)

    I’m enjoying your “cup of calm” too, and all here Kay, thanks!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      January 31, 2020 at 6:28 pm (4 years ago)

      Thanks, Michelle. I’m enjoying finding a haiku in each day.

      Reply
  3. Laura Purdie Salas
    January 26, 2020 at 12:15 pm (4 years ago)

    Such charming haiku! I especially love that last one–a cup of calm. Yes.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      January 31, 2020 at 6:28 pm (4 years ago)

      Thanks, Laura. I do enjoy my cup of tea in the evening.

      Reply
  4. Kathryn Apel
    January 25, 2020 at 10:14 pm (4 years ago)

    I always love reading your little poetry diaries. These are each spot on – but the teapot one is joy.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      January 26, 2020 at 9:29 am (4 years ago)

      Thanks, Kat. My teapot brings me much joy! There is nothing better than a cup of tea to relax with at the end of the day (and to start my day, too).

      Reply
  5. Carol Varsalona
    January 25, 2020 at 8:06 am (4 years ago)

    Kay, your first haiku is pertinent for me as I am cleaning out my house and stacking boxes and bags for a charity pickup. The last haiku brings me peace: “pours
    out a cup of calm”
    Thanks for sharing your daily practice.
    Thank you for your poetry postcard, too.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      January 25, 2020 at 4:00 pm (4 years ago)

      Thanks, Carol. I’m glad you received the postcard. And I love my cup of tea in the evening (and morning, too).

      Reply
  6. Karen Eastlund
    January 25, 2020 at 12:28 am (4 years ago)

    This is a wonderful practice, writing a daily haiku. I really enjoy them, and will try it sometimes myself. Thanks very much.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      January 25, 2020 at 3:59 pm (4 years ago)

      Thanks, Karen. I’m enjoying the practice of writing one each day–and already I am enjoying looking back over them.

      Reply
  7. Ramona
    January 24, 2020 at 9:47 pm (4 years ago)

    Love all your haiku, but especially the teapot one pouring out a cup of calm!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      January 25, 2020 at 3:59 pm (4 years ago)

      Thanks, Ramona. I do enjoy my cup of tea in the evening.

      Reply
  8. Linda Mitchell
    January 24, 2020 at 8:32 pm (4 years ago)

    Oh, you are right! Not many of us need all of it. I love weeding and cleaning out. I sorely need to do that.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      January 25, 2020 at 3:58 pm (4 years ago)

      Me, too Linda! I actually wrote the haiku about a shopping experience. Even my husband who was with me in that massive store, thought I wrote the poem about cleaning out stuff (I have been on a mission with our recent move!).

      Reply
  9. Linda Baie
    January 24, 2020 at 12:40 pm (4 years ago)

    Thanks for your postcard, too, Kay, a lovely piece of mail for me! And I am enjoying your haiku, capturing sometime my days, too! FYI – I have two large boxes right now on my porch, trying to give away ‘all that stuff’!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      January 25, 2020 at 3:57 pm (4 years ago)

      I’m glad you received the postcard, Linda. They have been a bright spot this winter I have a couple of bags in my closet waiting to go, too.

      Reply
  10. jama
    January 24, 2020 at 12:20 pm (4 years ago)

    Love hearing about your week via your haiku. Of course the teapot one made me smile the most. And doesn’t it feel so good to get rid of stuff?

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      January 25, 2020 at 3:56 pm (4 years ago)

      Thanks, Jama. I should have gotten a picture of the teapot–it’s one my daughter gave me for Christmas and it is lovely.

      Reply
  11. Tabatha
    January 24, 2020 at 11:24 am (4 years ago)

    “Who needs it all” is right! Such a good feeling to clean house. Thanks for sharing your haiku with us.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      January 25, 2020 at 3:56 pm (4 years ago)

      I keep asking myself that question–even after weeding through our stuff for our move last year, there’s too much. Even though I have bags waiting to be donated, I wrote the haiku in response to a visit to one of those massive home goods stores. Oh my, how much stuff.

      Reply

Leave a Reply