Poetry Friday: I made it through Inktober/Poemtober

I made it through the month of October with a poem and sketch for each day of the month. Some days it was just getting something down on paper. Some days I liked what I put down, others not so much. But I enjoyed the challenge and the creativity it spurred. Even more, I enjoyed seeing what others created from the same prompts.

Here are a few of my contributions from this last week.

the trees are garbed
in a multi-colored coat
until autumn shrugs

when barbed words
pierce our armor and defenses
heal our injured hearts

zombies roam the streets
looking for a few good eats
careful ‘fore they take a bite
unripe brains give them a fright

Each Friday, I am excited to take part in Poetry Friday, where writers share their love of all things poetry. Tabatha hosts the Poetry Friday Roundup today at The Opposite of Indifference. She shares a wealth of goodies including information on writing retreats nd the Winter Poetry Swap. Hurry over and check out all the poetry morsels offered up today.

12 Comments on Poetry Friday: I made it through Inktober/Poemtober

  1. Michelle Kogan
    November 5, 2019 at 2:03 am (4 years ago)

    Your “barbed word” haiku is bitingly good Kay, and I like your sense of humor in the zombies poem too. Good job on taking the challenge all the way through–thanks!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      November 22, 2019 at 4:00 pm (4 years ago)

      Thanks, Michelle. I had fun with the zombies!

      Reply
  2. Ramona
    November 3, 2019 at 11:09 pm (4 years ago)

    I’m so impressed with your poems from Inktober/Poemtober. Congrats on completing the challenge. Love your phrase – “until autumn shrugs.” And “heal our injured hearts,” another beautiful phrase from your month of writing.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      November 4, 2019 at 9:48 am (4 years ago)

      Thanks, Ramona. Glad you’re back for Poetry Friday!

      Reply
  3. cheriee weichel
    November 3, 2019 at 1:36 pm (4 years ago)

    Congratulations! I am impressed by everyone who participated in this challenge. I loved this bit from your first poem.
    until autumn shrugs
    Also love those unripe brains!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      November 3, 2019 at 4:18 pm (4 years ago)

      Thanks, Cheriee. It was fun through the month, but I’m glad it’s over.

      Reply
  4. Tabatha
    November 2, 2019 at 10:12 am (4 years ago)

    Congratulations — that’s no small accomplishment!
    “Unripe brains” ha!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      November 2, 2019 at 6:12 pm (4 years ago)

      Thanks, Tabatha. I was feeling a little silly that night and ready for some fun.

      Reply
  5. Molly Hogan
    November 2, 2019 at 9:11 am (4 years ago)

    Yay for you for completing a month of sketches and poems! I dabbled here or there, but only on the poetry front. Your first sketch and poem, with that fabulous shrug, really captured my heart. Congratulations!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      November 2, 2019 at 6:12 pm (4 years ago)

      Thanks, Molly. The trees here have certainly shrugged this week.

      Reply
  6. jama
    November 1, 2019 at 11:04 am (4 years ago)

    Congratulations on completing the October challenge! I’ve enjoyed seeing your daily contributions. I especially like the third poem in this post. 🙂

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      November 2, 2019 at 6:11 pm (4 years ago)

      Thanks, Jama. I had some fun with that one!

      Reply

Leave a Reply