Poetry Friday: More InkTober/PoemTober

I am still having fun with the InkTober and PoemTober prompts. There is something about having a daily deadline that gets creative juices flowing. I am more confident with words than I am with drawing (a sometimes think I should put labels on my drawings so you can tell what I wanted things to be). Even so, I’m gamely putting my doodles and scratches in ink out there alongside my words. Even if you can’t write/draw every day, I hope you take time to check out some of the offerings. They have been amazing! Here are a few of my favorites from this week.

build community
one smile, one handshake, one kindness
at a time

the fairies twirling among
enchanted
stars
twinkle
amid
enchanted
branches
filled
with
enchanted
twirling among the fairies

an empty swing sways
underneath a sturdy branch
childhood forgotten

Each Friday, I am excited to take part in Poetry Friday, where writers share their love of all things poetry. Catherine hosts the Poetry Friday Roundup today at Reading to the Core. She invites us to join poet Gregory Orr in remaking the world with words–through gratitude. Hurry over and check out all the poetry morsels offered up today.

22 Comments on Poetry Friday: More InkTober/PoemTober

  1. Laura
    October 17, 2019 at 3:52 pm (4 years ago)

    That empty swing got me, Kay! Maybe because we just moved out of the home our kids grew up on. No swings or playsets in our new back yard.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      October 20, 2019 at 7:27 pm (4 years ago)

      We left our swing set behind when we moved earlier this year. No one had played on it (and we had even taken the swings down) for a long while, but it’s strange being in a place without one.

      Reply
  2. Michelle Kogan
    October 14, 2019 at 1:07 am (4 years ago)

    I like all these Kay, and especially like your swing poem–it’d be fun to see your words in your poem going up into the tree bark where you have inktober, then you’d have a concrete poem too, thanks!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      October 15, 2019 at 7:35 am (4 years ago)

      Thanks, Michelle. Maybe I’ll get brave enough to try a concrete poem as the month goes on.

      Reply
  3. Molly Hogan
    October 12, 2019 at 7:44 pm (4 years ago)

    These are great, Kay! I am especially drawn to the swing and the echoes of childhood. I also applaud you for participating with drawing and poetry. Wow! I just found out that my daughter is doing Inktober while I play around with Poemtober. I’m hoping we can merge our efforts at least once before the end of the month.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      October 13, 2019 at 8:55 am (4 years ago)

      Thanks, Molly. I’m enjoying the process. I hope things work out to merge your and your daughter’s creativity sometime through the month.

      Reply
  4. Heidi Mordhorst
    October 12, 2019 at 7:03 am (4 years ago)

    You are brave to do the drawing alongside, Kay–nice to see someone else’s take on the challenge and the words! I like “enchanted.”

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      October 13, 2019 at 8:54 am (4 years ago)

      Thanks, Heidi. My drawing skills definitely aren’t up there, but I’m trying to focus on the process and having fun with it–even if my drawings need labels to identify things!

      Reply
  5. Kimberly M. Hutmacher
    October 12, 2019 at 6:07 am (4 years ago)

    Love these, and the first really touched me. We so need community right now! Thanks for sharing your pairings 🙂

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      October 12, 2019 at 6:27 am (4 years ago)

      Thanks, Kimberly. I keep coming back to community in much of my thinking these days.

      Reply
  6. Catherine Flynn
    October 11, 2019 at 9:48 pm (4 years ago)

    These are all wonderful, Kay. I love the repetition of “enchanted.” It really does only take “one smile, one handshake, one kindness.” Thank you for these lovely lines.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      October 12, 2019 at 6:27 am (4 years ago)

      Thanks, Catherine. That one is probably my favorite skinny I’ve written. It’s a challenging form.

      Reply
  7. Linda Baie
    October 11, 2019 at 9:31 pm (4 years ago)

    I’ve loved seeing your postings on Instagram, Kay, each one with the sketch is such fun.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      October 12, 2019 at 6:25 am (4 years ago)

      Thanks, Linda.

      Reply
  8. jama
    October 11, 2019 at 5:04 pm (4 years ago)

    Thanks for sharing these! I like those enchanted fairies and feel a little sad for childhood forgotten.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      October 12, 2019 at 6:25 am (4 years ago)

      Thanks, Jama. I hope all childhood isn’t forgotten, but I know there are times I forget the carefree times of childhood–or wish for them back again.

      Reply
  9. Michelle Heidenrich Barnes
    October 11, 2019 at 10:44 am (4 years ago)

    You’re living the artist’s “enchanted” life, Kay—doing the work, putting yourself out there, and taking risks! Yay you!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      October 12, 2019 at 6:24 am (4 years ago)

      aaah…thanks, Michelle. Your encouragement means a lot.

      Reply
  10. Irene Latham
    October 11, 2019 at 8:00 am (4 years ago)

    I’m enchanted! I love that you are sharing these with the world. Keep going! xo

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      October 11, 2019 at 8:53 am (4 years ago)

      Thanks, Irene. I never know where I’ll end up each day.

      Reply
  11. Linda Mitchell
    October 11, 2019 at 7:04 am (4 years ago)

    How fun! And, how lovely. I’ve always enjoyed the repetition of “one” in a poem or prose. The definition of it, the drum beat sound of it. You are doing well! I’ve been trying to keep up with poemtober….but I have just decided to forgive myself for the days I cannot. Glad to see your dedication.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      October 11, 2019 at 8:53 am (4 years ago)

      Thanks, Linda. I’m enjoying the prompts even when I feel rushed responding to one. As the month goes on, I may have to go easy on myself if I can’t keep up. I’ve enjoyed the ones you’ve shared so far.

      Reply

Leave a Reply