Poetry Friday: A Definito

A few weeks ago, Heidi at My Juicy Little Universe introduced a new poetic form–the definito. She defines the poem:

the definito is a free verse poem of 8-12 lines (aimed at readers 8-12 years old) that highlights wordplay as it demonstrates the meaning of a less common word, which always ends the poem.

Not only did Heidi share some new definitos, but so did several other poets in her writing group. I’ve enjoyed reading them and wanted to try one for myself. Like most poetry, it looks easier than it is to write, but it is much fun. Here’s my first attempt.

EPHEMERAL

A blink and a wink
pass by in a flash.
Even fits of giggles
seldom last.
Flowers droop
and fade away.
All these things
that refuse to stay
for very long
at all
are called
ephemeral.

Each Friday, I am excited to take part in Poetry Friday, where writers share their love of all things poetry. Sylvia and Janet host the Poetry Friday Roundup today at Poetry for Children. They share a poem from their anthology GREAT Morning! Poems for School Leaders to Read Aloud (Pomelo Books), 2018 and look forward to the IBBY regional conference in October. Hurry over and check out all the poetry morsels offered up today.

16 Comments on Poetry Friday: A Definito

  1. bookseedstudio/ Jan Godown Annino
    September 9, 2019 at 10:18 am (5 years ago)

    Hi dear Kay,
    Such amazements there are always to discover in the world of words.
    I missed Heidi’s treasure. I am grateful you celebrate it here. I love “Ephemeal” – great word, lovely poem.
    One for my writing pals to know – for us all to try.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      September 11, 2019 at 6:24 am (5 years ago)

      Thanks, Jan. If you liked this one, check out Heidi’s post with links to many more good ones from the Sunday Swaggers.

      Reply
  2. Sylvia Vardell
    September 9, 2019 at 9:40 am (5 years ago)

    How fun! I didn’t know about Heidi’s “definito” and I love it! Kids will love it too, I bet. Thanks for sharing your “Ephemeral” poem this Poetry Friday; I think you’ve rocked the form!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      September 11, 2019 at 6:22 am (5 years ago)

      Thanks, Sylvia. I think kids would enjoy these, too.

      Reply
  3. Susan Bruck
    September 8, 2019 at 11:41 pm (5 years ago)

    I haven’t tried writing a definito yet, but yours is definitely fun. You captured the essence of “ephemeral”–and what a wonderful word it is, too!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      September 11, 2019 at 6:22 am (5 years ago)

      Thanks, Susan. I hope you enjoy playing around with this form.

      Reply
  4. Michelle Kogan
    September 8, 2019 at 1:20 am (5 years ago)

    How perfect for “Ephemeral,” and like Linda I love the speedy rhythm too–and smiled all the way through, thanks Kay!

    Reply
    • KAY MCGRIFF
      September 8, 2019 at 9:11 am (5 years ago)

      Thanks, Michelle. I’g glad it brought a smile!

      Reply
  5. jama
    September 7, 2019 at 5:43 pm (5 years ago)

    Love the poem — this is definitely a fun poetic form!!

    Reply
    • KAY MCGRIFF
      September 8, 2019 at 9:10 am (5 years ago)

      Thanks, Jama. This form is fun to read and write!

      Reply
  6. Kimberly M. Hutmacher
    September 7, 2019 at 7:26 am (5 years ago)

    What a fun poem and form! I love this, Kay!

    Reply
    • KAY MCGRIFF
      September 7, 2019 at 1:26 pm (5 years ago)

      Thanks, Kimberly. It is a fun form to write. I’m glad Heidi introduced them to me.

      Reply
  7. Laura Purdie Salas
    September 6, 2019 at 2:18 pm (5 years ago)

    Kay, this is a lovely wisp of a definito–well done!

    Reply
    • KAY MCGRIFF
      September 7, 2019 at 1:26 pm (5 years ago)

      Thanks, Laura!

      Reply
  8. Linda Baie
    September 6, 2019 at 12:47 pm (5 years ago)

    It’s terrific, Kay. I love the content, the rhythm & the rhyme. The rhythm makes one read fast, like something “ephemeral”. very clever!

    Reply
    • KAY MCGRIFF
      September 7, 2019 at 1:25 pm (5 years ago)

      Thanks, Linda. It was fun to write! I do want to try some more with other words.

      Reply

Leave a Reply