Poetry Friday: Back to School

I’m no longer teaching, but I have many friends young and old who are heading back to school this time of year. It’s a difficult week to greet a classroom of fresh faces who are also impacted by the horrors shown on the evening news. My heart goes out to those teachers and students who are most directly impacted by the events of the past weeks and months and years. I wish for all of you to weave communities in your classrooms that offer hope and light to each other.

I had written this poem earlier to give to my Little Sis as she starts third grade. It seems light and fluffy amidst the heaviness of this past week, but maybe some lightness is needed, too.

Back To School

Sharpen your pencils, fill you pack.
Polish your smile
like a
jewel.
Dust off your brain
so that
you’ll
be ready to
soar at
school.

Each Friday, I am excited to take part in Poetry Friday, where writers share their love of all things poetry. Molly hosts the Poetry Friday Roundup today at Nix the Comfort Zone.  She shares a beautiful poem she wrote from a “stolen” title–and another completely different poem from the original writer of the title. Hurry over and check out all the poetry morsels offered up today.

17 Comments on Poetry Friday: Back to School

  1. Michelle Kogan
    August 12, 2019 at 8:11 pm (5 years ago)

    Great poem to start the school year, or fall season as it approaches. Love thinking about a smile as you describe them in these lines,
    “Polish your smile
    like a
    jewel”

    Thanks Kay!

    Reply
    • Kay Jernigan McGriff
      August 19, 2019 at 10:31 am (5 years ago)

      Thanks, Michelle. I hope there are many smiles as the new school year begins.

      Reply
  2. Ramona
    August 12, 2019 at 11:57 am (5 years ago)

    First days at school and those smiles! I always had someone take pics of my students on the first day. Now I wish I had labeled them at the time. So many faces I still remember with such fondness, but the names often escape me. Love your heartfelt wish for weaving communities filled with hope and light.

    Reply
    • Kay Jernigan McGriff
      August 19, 2019 at 10:31 am (5 years ago)

      Thanks, Ramona. I love the idea of taking first day of school pictures with you classes. I definitely remember lots of faces, but not so many of the names.

      Reply
  3. Kimberly M. Hutmacher
    August 10, 2019 at 4:19 pm (5 years ago)

    What a perfect back-to-school poem, Kay. Thank you!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      August 10, 2019 at 7:44 pm (5 years ago)

      Thanks, Kimberly!

      Reply
  4. Mary Lee
    August 10, 2019 at 7:09 am (5 years ago)

    Your wish is just perfect for students and teachers alike. I have tucked it in my heart for the coming week when we start back. Thanks!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      August 10, 2019 at 7:44 pm (5 years ago)

      Thanks, Mary Lee. I hope you have a great year with your students.

      Reply
  5. Jone
    August 9, 2019 at 10:05 pm (5 years ago)

    My year begins in a few weeks even though I’m not teaching as well. Some things don’t change.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      August 10, 2019 at 7:43 pm (5 years ago)

      I hope your new year starts fabulously!

      Reply
  6. Carol Varsalona
    August 9, 2019 at 9:00 pm (5 years ago)

    There is such inspriation guiding children to enjoy the beginning of school in your poem, Kay. The wish to “weave communities in your classrooms that offer hope and light to each other,” is a beautiful one, Kay. All classrooms should #StartStrong with relationship and trust building activities to form the communities you are speaking about.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      August 10, 2019 at 7:43 pm (5 years ago)

      Thanks, Carol. I agree that building those relationship are the foundation for learning.

      Reply
  7. Linda Mitchell
    August 9, 2019 at 3:34 pm (5 years ago)

    Ha! It’s wonderful…all those polished smiles on the first day.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      August 10, 2019 at 7:39 pm (5 years ago)

      Thanks, Linda!

      Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      August 10, 2019 at 7:41 pm (5 years ago)

      Aren’t those smiles the best? Thanks, Linda.

      Reply
  8. Linda Baie
    August 9, 2019 at 11:53 am (5 years ago)

    Wishes to children starting is a wonderful thing, Kay. Even those who are not at new schools, still a trepidatious day.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      August 10, 2019 at 7:39 pm (5 years ago)

      Thanks, Linda. I remember the excitement and worry before each first day, no matter how many I experienced.

      Reply

Leave a Reply