Poetry Friday: Bullfrog

This week we’ve been serenaded by the resident bullfrog in our pond.  I haven’t spied him yet, but he has filled the days and nights with his song.

a bulging bullfrog
crouches in the cattails, croons
a hopeful love song

Each Friday, I am excited to take part in Poetry Friday, where writers share their love of all things poetry. Liz hosts the Poetry Friday Roundup today at  Elizabeth Steinglass: Poetry for Children and Their Grownups.  She has lots to celebrate, including a brand new book–Soccerverse: Poems About Soccer. Hurry over and check out all the poetry morsels offered up today.

27 Comments on Poetry Friday: Bullfrog

  1. Laura Shovan
    May 16, 2019 at 4:11 pm (5 years ago)

    I can hear the bullfrog in your poem! This is my favorite time of year to go down to the frog pond in our neighborhood.

    Reply
  2. Mary Lee Hahn
    May 12, 2019 at 9:57 am (5 years ago)

    Thanks for helping me to hear your bullfrog. I’m thankful for our urban hawks, owls, and songbirds, but we don’t have any frogs that sing spring songs to us!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      May 12, 2019 at 2:32 pm (5 years ago)

      Thanks, Mary Lee. We have plenty of those birds, too. My bullfrog had better keep to the cattails for cover!

      Reply
  3. Molly Hogan
    May 11, 2019 at 5:34 pm (5 years ago)

    I love the evening amphibian serenades. It is tricky to find them though, isn’t it!? I haven’t found time to visit the vernal pools this year, and am missing my frog searches there. Do you have turtles, too?

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      May 12, 2019 at 9:50 am (5 years ago)

      Molly, I’m sure there are turtles, but I haven’t spotted one yet–maybe this summer when they come out to sun. We have spied fish gliding under the water.

      Reply
  4. Linda Mitchell
    May 11, 2019 at 4:21 pm (5 years ago)

    oooooh! What great alliteration! Say hello to Mr. Bullfrog for me. He’s a sure sign of spring/summer. LOVE it!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      May 12, 2019 at 9:49 am (5 years ago)

      Thanks, Linda. I had fun with the alliteration.

      Reply
  5. Carol Varsalona
    May 11, 2019 at 9:36 am (5 years ago)

    So, Kay, I read your post last night, added a comment, and came back to see if it posted. I am not sure why it did not.
    Your bullfrog serenade brings me back to the days when my children and their swimming friends would hunt for tiny frogs at swim meets. I never saw a bullfrog in person so I can only imagine how lovely his song is. I scanned your photo for sight of one.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      May 12, 2019 at 9:48 am (5 years ago)

      Thanks, Carol. I’m not sure what happened–I saw your first comment. I can remember searching for frogs and toads as a kid, too. I haven’t seen this fella yet–just listen to his song.

      Reply
  6. Liz
    May 11, 2019 at 6:27 am (5 years ago)

    Nature has so many secrets–including where these noisy fellows are hiding. I love all the alliteration!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      May 11, 2019 at 9:19 am (5 years ago)

      Thanks, Liz. I had fun with the alliteration.

      Reply
  7. Michelle Kogan
    May 11, 2019 at 12:10 am (5 years ago)

    I like bullfrogs, their song, and your poem too! It’s always fun trying to figure out where or what they are hiding in… And what fun to have a pond so close!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      May 11, 2019 at 9:19 am (5 years ago)

      Thanks, Michelle. I’ll have to go hunt for the bullfrog and see if he’s been successful. Wouldn’t be fun to watch the tadpoles grow, too.

      Reply
  8. Carol Varsalona
    May 10, 2019 at 11:16 pm (5 years ago)

    Kay, I was searching for your crooner in your photo? So glad that you can hear his song. I shared your autumn poem at my post today. Thanks for offering it.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      May 11, 2019 at 9:18 am (5 years ago)

      No crooner in the photo. I haven’t spied him yet, but I suspect the cattails might be a favorite hangout. I look forward to seeing the gallery!

      Reply
  9. cheriee weichel
    May 10, 2019 at 11:11 pm (5 years ago)

    I wish I was there to listen to that hopeful love song. It must be lovely to live so close to a pond.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      May 11, 2019 at 9:17 am (5 years ago)

      Thanks, Cheriee. It is wonderful to look out and see the pond every day.

      Reply
  10. Donna
    May 10, 2019 at 8:30 pm (5 years ago)

    I love the hopeful lovesong! 💖

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      May 10, 2019 at 9:09 pm (5 years ago)

      Thanks, Donna!

      Reply
  11. Matt Forrest Esenwine
    May 10, 2019 at 7:55 pm (5 years ago)

    Between the bullfrogs and peepers, it’s a loud, raucous symphony every night here! Thanks for sharing this, Kay.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      May 10, 2019 at 8:19 pm (5 years ago)

      Thanks, Matt. We have the spring peepers here, too, though they have quieted somewhat to let the bull frog take the spotlight.

      Reply
  12. Michelle Heidenrich Barnes
    May 10, 2019 at 4:31 pm (5 years ago)

    How lovely to have a crooner to serenade you! Although you’re not exactly his type, I’m glad he could make a special lady happy. 🙂

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      May 10, 2019 at 8:18 pm (5 years ago)

      THanks, Michelle! Your comment made me laugh. I hope he finds his special lady!

      Reply
  13. Linda Baie
    May 10, 2019 at 9:54 am (5 years ago)

    Having a pond outside your door seems heavenly, Kay. Love that bullfrog that ‘croons’. Happy Mother’s Day!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      May 10, 2019 at 4:10 pm (5 years ago)

      Thank you, Linda. The pond is heavenly. I’ve lived where we could hear spring peepers, but this is our first bullfrog neighbor.

      Reply
  14. Kimberly M. Hutmacher
    May 9, 2019 at 10:07 pm (5 years ago)

    What a lovely, haiku. I can almost hear your bullfrog’s song.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      May 10, 2019 at 4:09 pm (5 years ago)

      Thanks, Kimberly. He is quite the crooner!

      Reply

Leave a Reply