Poetry Friday: More Lenten Haiku

Here are a few more photos and haiku to wrap up Lent. This week has been one of those where it was all I could do to get something written, but I am grateful for this discipline that gets me to write anyway.

If you celebrate, I wish you a joyous Easter.

Each Friday, I am excited to take part in Poetry Friday, where writers share their love of all things poetry. Amy hosts the Poetry Friday Roundup today at The Poem Farm.  She continues her story in short (less than 15 lines) poems about John and Betsy. Hurry over and check out all the poetry morsels offered up today.

17 Comments on Poetry Friday: More Lenten Haiku

  1. Michelle Kogan
    April 21, 2019 at 2:38 pm (5 years ago)

    “Celebrate” and laughter, two ingredients I love having in life, lovely haiku, and collection Kay!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      April 26, 2019 at 8:53 am (5 years ago)

      Thanks, Michelle. Yes, I’m grateful for the celebrations and laughter in my life. That photo and haiku came from a weekend filled with college kids (my daughter and her friends) who spend a weekend with us I loved all the board games they let me play with them.

      Reply
  2. Linda Baie
    April 20, 2019 at 8:30 am (5 years ago)

    “Do you see the wonders before you”, important to remember always and especially this week, Kay. Happy Easter to you and your family.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      April 21, 2019 at 1:24 pm (5 years ago)

      Thank you, Linda. I love how poetry helps me to tune into those wonders before me.

      Reply
  3. Jane @ Raincity Librarian
    April 19, 2019 at 10:05 pm (5 years ago)

    These are so beautiful, I remember as a child how important Lent was for my family, and how Holy Week in particular was a period of sombre reflection, beauty, hope, and ultimately joy, which you’ve captured so wonderfully.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      April 21, 2019 at 1:24 pm (5 years ago)

      Thank you, Jane. I have been grateful for the opportunity to reflect and be creative during Lent this year.

      Reply
  4. Ruth
    April 19, 2019 at 12:39 pm (5 years ago)

    Lovely! Thank you! Ruth, thereisnosuchthingasagodforsakentown.blogspot.com

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      April 19, 2019 at 7:33 pm (5 years ago)

      Thanks!

      Reply
  5. Carol Varsalona
    April 19, 2019 at 11:21 am (5 years ago)

    Kay, I am so glad that you posted your Lenten haikus for us to read. I especially like the messages for Listen and Here. All your poems are grounding me on Good Friday. Many thanks.

    Reply
    • Carol Varsalona
      April 19, 2019 at 11:23 am (5 years ago)

      I meant Silence (listen was the word inside the poem that I need to do in silence meditation today). Thank you.

      Reply
      • Mrs. McGriff
        April 19, 2019 at 7:32 pm (5 years ago)

        Me, too, Carol. These are reminders to me to slow down and listen.

        Reply
  6. Mary Lee Hahn
    April 19, 2019 at 9:48 am (5 years ago)

    Lovely. My favorites are “Silence” and “Here.”

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      April 19, 2019 at 7:32 pm (5 years ago)

      Thank you, Mary Lee. The photo for “here” is one I captured because I actually took time to notice the view out my window in the midst of rushing around that evening.

      Reply
  7. Amy Ludwig VanDerwater
    April 19, 2019 at 9:21 am (5 years ago)

    Such wise reminders for all of us…all year long. These could all be framed together. Thank you…and here’s to discipline. It offers us “here.” xx

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      April 19, 2019 at 7:31 pm (5 years ago)

      Thank you, Amy. I find that this practice often speaks what I need to hear through the year

      Reply
  8. Books4Learning
    April 19, 2019 at 9:20 am (5 years ago)

    Amazing! I love the poems and their accompanying pictures. They are a beautiful blessing. I think my favorite is “seeking solace.” Thanks for sharing these.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      April 19, 2019 at 7:30 pm (5 years ago)

      Thank you. That one speaks to where I am in many ways.

      Reply

Leave a Reply