Poetry Friday: Sunrise Conversation and Roundup

Welcome to Poetry Friday and this week’s roundup! Please leave your link with Mr. Linky below. I look forward to seeing what poetry goodness gathers round this week.

When I first saw Michelle’s DMC challenge for this month at Today’s Little Ditty, I thought what fun! In her Spotlight On interview with Calef Brown, Brown challenged us to write a poem that tells a story about two anthropomorphized objects. (If you haven’t checked out the interview yet, it’s a delight.) Then I sat down to write–and stared and stared at the blank page before me. Nothing. Then I read some of the offerings on the padlet. That might have been a mistake. I certainly found lots of inspiration, but I also found myself a little intimidated. These poems are so good.

Finally, this morning as I went out to feed my chickens, I took a moment to drink in the sunrise–clouds blushing pink in the eastern sky. I didn’t snap a picture, but I did grasp a snippet of a line that started my poem

Sunrise Conversation

What is this fire
that turns me pink
from a burning eye
that never blinks?

It is your friend,
the sun, up high
that tints your blush
across the sky.

Be sure and add your link below!

 

47 Comments on Poetry Friday: Sunrise Conversation and Roundup

  1. Buffy Silverman
    October 26, 2018 at 9:31 pm (5 years ago)

    Lovely conversation, Kay–glad you had some early morning inspiration!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      October 27, 2018 at 10:20 am (5 years ago)

      Thanks, Buffy!

      Reply
  2. Susan Bruck
    October 26, 2018 at 8:55 pm (5 years ago)

    I’m glad you found that snippet of inspiration–such a lovely poem! And a good reminder that one never knows where inspiration will come from. Thanks for sharing–and for hosting, too!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      October 27, 2018 at 10:20 am (5 years ago)

      Thanks, Susan. So true about not knowing where inspiration will strike

      Reply
  3. Margaret Simon
    October 26, 2018 at 6:26 pm (5 years ago)

    Thanks for hosting today with this lovely little blush of rising sun!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      October 27, 2018 at 10:19 am (5 years ago)

      Thanks, Margaret.

      Reply
  4. Carol Varsalona
    October 26, 2018 at 2:17 pm (5 years ago)

    Something screwy must have happened last night with my connections, Kay. The original link I posted was wrong (Linda Baie told me) and my comment to you was not attached. I am amazed by the end result of your watching the morning sunrise. The poem is a credit to your hard work and diligence as a writer who notices, wonders, and creates. Thanks for reminding me that MH has a challenge. Please note that I have one for autumn and would absolutely love offerings from Indiana.

    Reply
    • Carol Varsalona
      October 26, 2018 at 2:18 pm (5 years ago)

      I had to sign up again to post the right link to my blog, Abundant Autumn: Invitation to Create. Thanks for hosting PF, Kay.

      Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      October 26, 2018 at 2:39 pm (5 years ago)

      Thank you, Carol. Yesterday was one of those days that shows me I do have time to write. I composed most of this while driving to and from different work commitments, jotting down fragments of lines when I reached my destination and then mulling and tweaking as I drove more. Glad you persevered with the technology. I’ll be mulling over fall in Indiana for your gallery!

      Reply
  5. Karin Fisher-Golton
    October 26, 2018 at 2:10 pm (5 years ago)

    I love how the Sunrise doesn’t exist without the two voiced partners. And your words bring such a lovely, colorful image.

    Thank you for hosting Poetry Friday! It’s been a while since I’ve participated, and I’m glad to be here.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      October 26, 2018 at 2:37 pm (5 years ago)

      Thanks, Karin. Glad you’re back! I look forward to reading your poetry offering.

      Reply
  6. Michelle Schaub
    October 26, 2018 at 11:26 am (5 years ago)

    Lovely poem, Kay. I especially like the line “that tints your blush”- this paints a vivid picture of a soft pink sunrise in my mind!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      October 26, 2018 at 2:37 pm (5 years ago)

      Thanks, Michelle. Now I’m blushing.

      Reply
  7. Amy Ludwig VanDerwater
    October 26, 2018 at 11:26 am (5 years ago)

    Chores such as chicken-tending offer unexpected surprises and gifts…gifts like this poem! Thank you for hosting today. Happy Poetry Friday!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      October 26, 2018 at 2:37 pm (5 years ago)

      Thanks, Amy. I love it when the chickens offer up such surprises–surprisingly often, too!

      Reply
  8. Laura Shovan
    October 26, 2018 at 11:13 am (5 years ago)

    Thanks for hosting today, Kay. Since you mentioned your chickens, I’m picturing the unblinking eye of the sun as a rooster’s eye!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      October 26, 2018 at 11:26 am (5 years ago)

      How cool! I wish I had a rooster, but mine are all girls. I suppose the neighbors might not appreciate a rooster in the wee hours of the morning.

      Reply
  9. Little Willow
    October 26, 2018 at 10:09 am (5 years ago)

    Good morning! Thanks for hosting! Enjoy the sunrise!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      October 26, 2018 at 11:08 am (5 years ago)

      Thanks, Little Willow.

      Reply
  10. Jan/Bookseedstudio
    October 26, 2018 at 8:56 am (5 years ago)

    This is inspiring to me, Kay.
    I feel as if you’ve painted gray away from my day.
    (It’s rainy here.)
    I’ve been absent from the ditty challenges & will enjoy reading
    them all -by & by.
    Much applause for this Oct. 26 hosting 🙂

    I’ll add to Linky soon.
    I’m at https://booseedstudio.wordpress.com

    Jan/Bookseedstudio

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      October 26, 2018 at 11:08 am (5 years ago)

      Thanks, Jan. It’s a grey, rainy day here now, but the sunrise yesterday was spectacular. I’m glad this poem helps me remember it.

      Reply
  11. JoAnn Early Macken
    October 26, 2018 at 8:50 am (5 years ago)

    I love the blushing clouds and the thought of you being inspired while feeding your chickens! Thank you for hosting today!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      October 26, 2018 at 11:07 am (5 years ago)

      Thank you, JoAnn. Both sunrises and chickens provide lots of inspiration for me!

      Reply
  12. Laura Purdie Salas
    October 26, 2018 at 7:28 am (5 years ago)

    Kay, I love that burning eye that never blinks–brilliant! Thanks for hosting :>)

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      October 26, 2018 at 8:03 am (5 years ago)

      Thanks, Laura.

      Reply
  13. Alan Wright
    October 26, 2018 at 12:43 am (5 years ago)

    You walked out into the morning and your inspiration was waiting for you to appear Kay. How good is that? So often our inspiration comes from simple pleasures and known places. You poem captures a simple beauty. Thank you for hosting. Yesterday I shared this on Twitter: ‘Poetry has an interesting function. It helps people ‘be’ where they are.’ said Gary Snyder. The poetry of place is thus nourished. The reader is gently delivered to the setting.’ You have achieved this in your actions and the subsequent writing of your poem.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      October 26, 2018 at 8:03 am (5 years ago)

      Thanks, Alan. I love this quote–I know I find that poetry helps me to focus and to “be” in a particular place and time.

      Reply
  14. jama
    October 25, 2018 at 10:50 pm (5 years ago)

    Charming poem, Kay! Thanks so much for hosting this week. 🙂

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      October 26, 2018 at 8:02 am (5 years ago)

      Thanks, Jama!

      Reply
  15. Karen Edmisten
    October 25, 2018 at 10:41 pm (5 years ago)

    I love the way inspiration can sneak up on me, usually just after I’ve given up being inspired. 🙂 Love your story about how the inspiration hit you, as well as the resulting gem!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      October 26, 2018 at 8:01 am (5 years ago)

      Thanks, Karen. I’ve learned that inspiration is more likely to come the more I work at sitting down to write on a regular basis.

      Reply
  16. Michelle Heidenrich Barnes
    October 25, 2018 at 10:30 pm (5 years ago)

    Wonderful, Kay! And what a nice surprise to see your DMC poem here for Poetry Friday! Thank you. I was hoping you’d be able to come up with something for this month’s challenge. 🙂 Your poem just goes to show that there are many ways to approach every challenge. I agree that some of the poems up on the padlet are intimidating, but as in life, the best stories are not always the funny ones or the ones with complicated plot lines! Sometimes the simpler stories—like a captured moment between celestial friends—are just as effective. Did you see Buffy’s poem today (Thursday)? Yours and hers strike me as similar: https://michellehbarnes.blogspot.com/2018/10/dmc-conversation-on-darkening-day-by.html

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      October 26, 2018 at 8:01 am (5 years ago)

      Thanks, Michelle–and thanks for hosting the monthly challenges. I learn so much from attempting them and from reading all the poems. Yes, I did see Buffy’s poem. It’s beautiful–and matches the sky this morning!

      Reply
  17. Linda Baie
    October 25, 2018 at 10:19 pm (5 years ago)

    I adore that your inspiration came early in the morn with your chickens, Kay, and I love that ‘burning eye that never blinks.’ Thanks very much for hosting this week!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      October 26, 2018 at 7:59 am (5 years ago)

      Thanks, Linda. My chickens are a frequent source of inspiration!

      Reply
  18. Diane Mayr
    October 25, 2018 at 10:18 pm (5 years ago)

    I’m glad the muse visited you (and the chickens), she certainly gave you a great line to build on.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      October 26, 2018 at 7:59 am (5 years ago)

      Thanks, Diana. Isn’t it amazing what just one line can do?

      Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      October 26, 2018 at 7:58 am (5 years ago)

      Thanks, Matt. That is a gorgeous photo. Thanks for sharing it.

      Reply
  19. Michelle Kogan
    October 25, 2018 at 9:30 pm (5 years ago)

    Gorgeous response to the Ditty challenge Kay! Love this part,
    “that tints your blush
    across the sky.”

    Thanks for this light filled poem, and for hosting the Roundup!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      October 26, 2018 at 7:57 am (5 years ago)

      Thanks, Michelle. I knew I wanted to work blush in to the sun’s response, but it took several tries before I found the right words.

      Reply
  20. Linda M.
    October 25, 2018 at 8:59 pm (5 years ago)

    Oh, that is great! I love that a line came to you and the chickens this morning. I always have that “freeze” feeling when thinking about the TLD challenge. Every. stinkin. time. So, I’ve decided not to worry about it. I treat the challenge as a draft exercise and go with it. I agree that the poems on the padlet ARE a bit intimidating. Certainly not the draft exercise sort. But, it’s really fun to see the variety. I marvel over the poems that look so easy. How do they do that? Thanks for hosting this week.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      October 26, 2018 at 7:57 am (5 years ago)

      Thanks, Linda. I can relate to that “freeze” feeling, too, but I usually end up liking the result when I finally sit down to write and revise something. And I love seeing what everyone else comes up with!

      Reply
  21. Tabatha
    October 25, 2018 at 8:56 pm (5 years ago)

    Hi Kay! Glad you joined the ditty challenge! Sometimes it just takes a snippet to get going. Thanks for hosting!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      October 26, 2018 at 7:56 am (5 years ago)

      Thanks, Tabatha. I’m grateful for that snippet that got me started!

      Reply
  22. Molly Hogan
    October 25, 2018 at 8:54 pm (5 years ago)

    “Sunrise Conversation.” What a great title and I really like the riddle like feel to your first stanza. I was also thrilled by the skies this morning, though my eye was especially drawn to the lingering almost-full moon. I loved the TLD challenge this month as well and shared my effort in my post today. Thanks so much for hosting this week!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      October 26, 2018 at 7:55 am (5 years ago)

      Thanks, Molly. I also love watching the moon wax and wane on my trips out to the chickens. I look forward to reading your answer to this month’s challenge. I’m always blown away by how good the poems are.

      Reply

Leave a Reply