Poetry Friday: A Zeno

Several weeks ago Margaret Simon introduced me to a new-to-me form:  the zeno– a form created by J. Patric Lewis. Ever since, I’ve wanted to try one. It looks simple with 10 lines following a syllable count of 8, 4, 2, 1, 4, 2, 1, 4, 2, 1. The one syllable lines rhyme. Like most poetic forms the simple appearance is deceiving. I attempted several that may not ever see the light of day outside of my notebook. But here is one that I’m willing to share. Once again, I head back to the river.

CORRECTION: This is an almost zeno. Thanks to Kat Apel, I realized that I left out a 4-syllable line. Later, I’ll have to go back and rework it. Thanks, Kat!

The River

The river winds through shady trees
with rustling leaves
crowned with
greens.
Under their boughs
nature
gleans
a bundle of
peaceful
scenes.

Each Friday, I am excited to take part in Poetry Friday, where writers share their love of all things poetry. Tabatha Yeats hosts the Poetry Friday Roundup today at The Opposite of Indifference. She welcomes us with a poem of friendship and an invitation to a winter poetry swap. Hurry over and check out all the poetry morsels offered up today.

22 Comments on Poetry Friday: A Zeno

  1. Linda M.
    October 19, 2018 at 6:25 am (6 years ago)

    I missed a week or two? I was looking for you on 10/19 and didn’t see a post…and came to this lovely xeno. Isn’t it an interesting form? And, you’ve accomplished it well. I like a good challenge. And, I do enjoy the learning in this poetry community as well. You make me want to give the xeno a try..another try to get it as good as you have with “crowned with greens.” Beautiful. My favorite color in a favorite place.

    Reply
  2. Molly Hogan
    October 18, 2018 at 5:56 am (6 years ago)

    I’ve been playing with zenos, too! They are a fun and challenging format. I’m partial to river scenes, so your zeno resonates with me. Bring on the tranquility of nature to get me through these crazy days!

    Reply
    • Kay Jernigan McGriff
      October 18, 2018 at 8:14 am (6 years ago)

      Thanks, Molly. I take a great deal of comfort from the river. I’m glad I live in an area that is threaded with them.

      Reply
  3. JoAnn Early Macken
    October 7, 2018 at 10:11 pm (6 years ago)

    Ooh, that form does look like a challenge! I will have to give it a try. I especially liked your choice of rhyming words and the image of “rustling leaves crowned with greens.”

    Reply
    • Kay Jernigan McGriff
      October 18, 2018 at 8:14 am (6 years ago)

      Thanks, JoAnn. They are a challenge to write! I hope you have fun playing with the form.

      Reply
  4. Mary Lee
    October 7, 2018 at 7:36 am (6 years ago)

    Hmm…my cogs are turning. I might have to try this form for next week! Thanks for the inspiration!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      October 7, 2018 at 1:03 pm (6 years ago)

      Good luck with it! I love reading them, but found it much harder to write than I expected. I look forward to seeing what you come up with.

      Reply
  5. Tabatha
    October 7, 2018 at 5:20 am (6 years ago)

    Such a hard form, especially with rhyming! I like how you used additional long e sounds (trees, leaves, peaceful).

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      October 7, 2018 at 1:03 pm (6 years ago)

      Thanks, Tabatha. I’m not sure I can take credit for those other sounds–I didn’t even notice much about it until you pointed it out.

      Reply
  6. Buffy Silverman
    October 5, 2018 at 1:31 pm (6 years ago)

    You’re right that this form is harder than it looks! You’ve created a nice scene.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      October 6, 2018 at 6:30 am (6 years ago)

      Thanks, Buffy.

      Reply
  7. Sally Murphy
    October 5, 2018 at 7:36 am (6 years ago)

    A clever use of a tricky form. I can hear the river flowing in the lilting rhythm.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      October 6, 2018 at 6:30 am (6 years ago)

      Thanks, Sally.

      Reply
  8. Kathryn Apel
    October 5, 2018 at 1:00 am (6 years ago)

    Adds zeno to list of forms to try! Thank-you. Your poem has a real lilt as it sings along.

    Reply
    • Kathryn Apel
      October 5, 2018 at 7:23 am (6 years ago)

      Argh! You’re right. Harder than it looks – especially when you’re trying to squeeze facts in … and forget about the rhyme!!! #stillworkingonit

      Reply
      • Mrs. McGriff
        October 6, 2018 at 6:30 am (6 years ago)

        I feel your frustration! I have many abandoned drafts on a variety of topics. But once I got one that started working–the satisfaction of a puzzle solved!

        Reply
        • Kathryn Apel
          October 7, 2018 at 2:36 am (6 years ago)

          Looks like you got there! I’ve had to put mine aside – unfinished… #fornow

          Reply
          • Mrs. McGriff
            October 7, 2018 at 1:02 pm (6 years ago)

            I’m not entirely satisfied with the line I added. I definitely want to explore this form some more.

  9. Linda Baie
    October 4, 2018 at 11:27 pm (6 years ago)

    It reads very nicely aloud, Kay. I love that you are near a river and that beautiful scene to write about.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      October 6, 2018 at 6:29 am (6 years ago)

      Thanks, Linda. I’m looking forward to being on the river again this morning–this time for our semi-annual cleanup.

      Reply
  10. Jane @ Raincity Librarian
    October 4, 2018 at 9:11 pm (6 years ago)

    Oooh, that format’s a challenging one, and I think you tackled it beautifully! The wonderful thing about poetry is that there’s so much learn, and so many styles and formats to challenge oneself with, and to always keep things fresh and exciting!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      October 6, 2018 at 6:28 am (6 years ago)

      Thanks, Jane. It is a challenging form and one I’d like to keep exploring. I love that I can keep learning from poetry–and this poetry community.

      Reply

Leave a Reply