Poetry Friday: Those Were the Days

When I was looking for my “Where I’m From” poem to share a few weeks ago, I came across this poem I had written in a workshop with Ralph Fletcher. (You can read about the lesson here.) Here it is:

Those Were the Days

Sometimes I remember
the good old days,
 
rolling down the grassy hill
until the blue sky whirled above me.
 
I lay in the sun-soaked grass
feeling the earth tilt and spin beneath me.
 
I staggered to my feet,
grass tickling my toes
 
and raced my brother to the top
and paused before doing it again.
 
I still can’t imagine
anything better than that.
 

Each Friday, I am excited to take part in Poetry Friday, where writers share their love of all things poetry. Amy Ludwig VanDerwater hosts the Poetry Friday Roundup today at The Poem Farm. Hurry over and check out all the poetry morsels offered up today. 

18 Comments on Poetry Friday: Those Were the Days

  1. Amy Ludwig VanDerwater
    September 19, 2018 at 10:58 am (6 years ago)

    Oh! Yes. I am thinking of the big big sledding hill next to my childhood home. This last line of your poem really got me. Our childhood memories are so precious. Thank you, poet-from-rolling. xx

    Reply
  2. Carol Varsalona
    September 17, 2018 at 3:18 pm (6 years ago)

    Kay, your poem shares all the excitement of being a child and enjoying life outdoors: grass tickling my toes! What would we do without our good ole’ days memories?

    Reply
  3. Rebecca
    September 16, 2018 at 9:33 pm (6 years ago)

    I love the memory that you evoke in your poem. As a kid (and even now) I always wanted to enjoy rolling down a hill, but I’ve never found the dizziness enjoyable. Even now, I love the thrill of rollercoasters, but can’t do the dizziness!.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      September 17, 2018 at 9:55 am (6 years ago)

      Thanks, Rebecca. I don’t do as well with the dizziiness these days, but I used to relish it.

      Reply
  4. Michelle Heidenrich Barnes
    September 16, 2018 at 8:46 pm (6 years ago)

    I love all the dizzying action words, Kay—you rolling, the sky whirling, and the earth tilting and spinning. Not to mention the racing and staggering. 🙂 Sounds like a well-spent afternoon!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      September 17, 2018 at 9:54 am (6 years ago)

      Thanks, Michelle. Those were the days. Now I think I’ll settle for just lying on the ground and watching the sky!

      Reply
  5. Michelle Kogan
    September 15, 2018 at 1:39 am (6 years ago)

    Refreshing poem and memory–I can see your action as if it’s happening–you’ve captured the moment well!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      September 15, 2018 at 9:36 am (6 years ago)

      Thanks, Michelle. It is a memory I treasure.

      Reply
  6. Linda M.
    September 14, 2018 at 6:28 pm (6 years ago)

    How wonderful! And so in keeping with Amy’s Poetry Friday post. How did you do that?

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      September 15, 2018 at 9:36 am (6 years ago)

      Thanks Linda. It must have been serendipity to go along with Amy’s post because I didn’t look at hers first!

      Reply
  7. Linda Baie
    September 14, 2018 at 6:23 pm (6 years ago)

    I remember Ralph’s poem & lesson, and you’ve made it so wonderful. Even with my thinking-they’re-grown-up middle-school students, every time on trips we found a grassy hill, most had to roll down it! I love that you added “blue sky whirled above me”. Lovely memory, Kay.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      September 15, 2018 at 9:35 am (6 years ago)

      Thanks, Linda. That’s what I loved about teaching middle schoolers–all grown up and still little kids wrapped up in one rapidly changing mind and body.

      Reply
  8. Michelle Schaub
    September 14, 2018 at 4:04 pm (6 years ago)

    Your poem made me dizzy with happy memories. I’m jealous that you attended a workshop with Ralph Fletcher! As a middle school language arts teacher myself, his books have inspired the way I teach writing. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      September 15, 2018 at 9:34 am (6 years ago)

      Thanks, Michelle. I was so blessed by my local NWP site. We invited so many great teachers and writers to share with us each summer.

      Reply
  9. Robyn Hood Black
    September 14, 2018 at 2:00 pm (6 years ago)

    Oh, me, too! I especially love these lines:
    “I lay in the sun-soaked grass/feeling the earth tilt and spin beneath me.
    I staggered to my feet,/grass tickling my toes” …!

    Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      September 15, 2018 at 9:34 am (6 years ago)

      Thanks, Robyn. I hope you and a your family are staying safe and dry this week.

      Reply
  10. jama
    September 14, 2018 at 12:18 pm (6 years ago)

    What a wonderful memory. Your poem made me smile and feel a little wistful . . .

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      September 15, 2018 at 9:33 am (6 years ago)

      Thanks, Jama. It makes me wistful, too. I don’t think I could spin like that anymore. I tried a flip over a bar at the playground with my little sis last night and could barely stand after just one!

      Reply

Leave a Reply