Poetry Friday: Saying Goodbye

It’s been a tough week in the McGriff household as we’ve been to two funerals for people we love–saying goodbye to a friend from church and to my husband’s grandmother. The words have been quite stuck this week, but I have written some snippets of poetry in response to my readings from the Bible in the morning. Here is an unfinished snippet from my reading from 1 Thessalonians 4 this morning. The words seemed fitting for this past week. I’m not quite sure where I will go with it, but it might grow into a sonnet

When the archangel thunders
and God’s golden trumpet blasts<
there will be no more blunders
as we reunite at last.

Each Friday, I am excited to take part in Poetry Friday, where writers share their love of all things poetry. Sylvia hosts the Poetry Friday Roundup today at Poetry for Children. She’s introducing a brand new book: Great Morning! Poems for School Leaders to Read Aloud. Wouldn’t it be wonderful if every school day included a poem to start the morning announcements? Drop by and see what poetry morsels are offered this week.

28 Comments on Poetry Friday: Saying Goodbye

  1. Molly Hogan
    July 16, 2018 at 9:05 am (6 years ago)

    I’m so sorry to hear about your recent losses. I hope you find comfort in your faith and in your writing. Thinking of you.

    Reply
  2. Ramona
    July 15, 2018 at 11:08 pm (6 years ago)

    Tough times for you. Sorry to hear of your losses and sorrow. I love the line “there will be no more blunders.” There’s such comfort in those words.

    Reply
  3. Buffy Silverman
    July 15, 2018 at 5:10 pm (6 years ago)

    So sorry for your losses. Yes, poetry often helps find the words you need.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      July 15, 2018 at 9:32 pm (6 years ago)

      Thanks, Buffy

      Reply
  4. Sally Murphy
    July 15, 2018 at 3:10 am (6 years ago)

    Hugs to you, but glad that you can find some comfort in writing, even if just a few lines – such a lovely few lines.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      July 15, 2018 at 12:55 pm (6 years ago)

      Thanks, Salley

      Reply
  5. Michelle Kogan
    July 14, 2018 at 9:48 pm (6 years ago)

    Sending you thoughts and a hug–loosing ones you love–hard to find words for that. These are beautiful and rich lines you’ve written on their own, or maybe turned into another form–answer them when they call again, xo

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      July 15, 2018 at 12:55 pm (6 years ago)

      Thanks, Michelle. I’m looking forward to seeing where this poem leads.

      Reply
  6. Ruth (thereisnosuchthingasagodforsakentown.blogspot.com)
    July 14, 2018 at 3:18 pm (6 years ago)

    I’m so sorry! Saying goodbye is never easy.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      July 14, 2018 at 8:49 pm (6 years ago)

      Thanks, Ruth.

      Reply
  7. Mary Lee Hahn
    July 14, 2018 at 2:45 pm (6 years ago)

    Condolences. I’m glad poetry is helping you heal.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      July 14, 2018 at 8:48 pm (6 years ago)

      Thanks, Mary Lee.

      Reply
  8. Sylvia
    July 13, 2018 at 10:54 pm (6 years ago)

    So sorry for your losses. Poetry (and Bible reading and inspiration) can be such a comfort!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      July 14, 2018 at 8:56 am (6 years ago)

      Thanks, Sylvia. I am finding comfort in poetry and Bible reading and the support of friends.

      Reply
  9. Brenda
    July 13, 2018 at 10:43 pm (6 years ago)

    How every sad. Poetry is the right response. Sympathies.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      July 14, 2018 at 8:56 am (6 years ago)

      Thanks, Brenda. Poetry helps, as does the support of friends.

      Reply
  10. Kathryn Apel
    July 13, 2018 at 6:47 pm (6 years ago)

    I think a sonnet would make a natural transition for a topic like this, Kay. Hugs for your loss. Be gentle with yourself.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      July 13, 2018 at 9:18 pm (6 years ago)

      Thanks, Kathryn I’m looking forward to seeing if it will grow into a sonnet. It does seem like the right form.

      Reply
  11. Tabatha
    July 13, 2018 at 5:07 pm (6 years ago)

    I’m sorry for your losses, Kay. No wonder the words were stuck. Thank you for joining us even when it was hard to do. Hugs.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      July 13, 2018 at 9:17 pm (6 years ago)

      Thanks, Tabatha. I almost didn’t share. In fact I had decided not to and was already missing it when these lines came this morning

      Reply
  12. Linda Baie
    July 13, 2018 at 4:43 pm (6 years ago)

    What you can do is fine, one step then the next as it happens. I’m sorry for these losses. They are never easy or the right time. Enjoy the poetry just for you.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      July 13, 2018 at 9:17 pm (6 years ago)

      Thanks, Linda. Taking one step at a time is wise advice anytime, but especially so now.

      Reply
  13. Linda M.
    July 13, 2018 at 3:31 pm (6 years ago)

    OH, my goodness, Kay….you’ve had some tough times. I’m so sorry. You are so close to all of this. Give yourself some gentle distance. The poem will come. Prayers for you, my friend. prayers of comfort and a peace.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      July 13, 2018 at 9:16 pm (6 years ago)

      Thank you, Linda. Your prayers are much appreciated.

      Reply
  14. Donna Smith
    July 13, 2018 at 1:58 pm (6 years ago)

    Yes, do continue! I immediately launched into (in my head) a list of things that wouldn’t matter anymore, are forgiven, are the important things after all, etc. Would you repeat a line or lines from this later in the poem? I wonder if this is the beginning or ending?
    You need to revisit. Looking forward to it. This is a great start and reminds me of a post I had a couple of weeks ago when I was overwhelmed and woke with about this same amount. Fortunately, as with this, it was written down. The rest would come later. Thanks for sharing this!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      July 13, 2018 at 9:15 pm (6 years ago)

      Thanks, Donna. Your encouragement and enthusiasm is just what I needed! I do want to revisit this once emotions have had time to settle–and I am so glad these lines came to me on my run this morning and I wrote them down before I lost them

      Reply
      • Donna Smith
        July 14, 2018 at 8:32 am (6 years ago)

        It is funny how Bible verses and grief – or joy – can tumble around in our heads to help us sort out what needs sorting. I know how these events can get your words stuck, and even the desire to write words is lost. Keep breathing, reading, praying and writing. My prayers are also lifted for you, your family and friends. I know you have a pent up poem that will burst forth when the plug gets pulled!

        Reply
        • Mrs. McGriff
          July 14, 2018 at 8:57 am (6 years ago)

          Thanks, Donna!

          Reply

Leave a Reply