Poetry Friday: A Visit with John Wesley

I’m back with more pictures and poetry from my trip to England this past March. One of the highlights of our trip for me was a little off the beaten path of most tourists–The Museum of Methodism and John Wesley House on City Road. I grew up in the United Methodist Church and am still an active member. Seeing where John Wesley, the founder of the Methodist movement, lived and preached was humbling and inspiring.

I found a quote (there are so many good ones to choose from) my friend and pastor Reverend Donna Fowler Marchant. Last year she was able to complete a sabbatical in England where she visited sites important to John and Charles Wesley and dug deep into Wesley’s work and writings. She captured her reflections on her journey and shares her theological musings on her blog Travels with Wesley. Check it out if you want to learn more. She also fact-checked my Golden Shovel poem to catch any mistakes that came from cramming too many things into too short a week. Thanks, my friend!

A Visit with John Wesley

“Let the fire of thy love fall on every heart.” ~John Wesley

From Wesley’s Chapel and your home on City Road, you let
the Good News spread throughout the
world. Like a Bible charred in the fire
at Epworth, you were plucked from the flames for a life of
mission and ministry. The world became thy
parish as you preached the Gospel and showed God’s love
to neighbors near and far. Every morning you would fall
to your knees to pray and meditate on
God’s word. Study and charity and travel filled every
moment as you hoped God’s love would strangely warm each heart.

Each Friday, I am excited to take part in Poetry Friday, where writers share their love of all things poetry. Karen hosts the Poetry Friday Roundup today at  Karen Edmisten*.  Drop by and see what poetry morsels are offered this week.

26 Comments on Poetry Friday: A Visit with John Wesley

  1. Laura Purdie Salas
    June 20, 2018 at 4:46 pm (6 years ago)

    This is lovely–poems that effortlessly work in heart and facts together are just magic!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      June 21, 2018 at 8:34 pm (6 years ago)

      Thanks, Laura. I’m trying to strike the right balance, but this form is challenging!

      Reply
  2. Laura Shovan
    June 18, 2018 at 7:55 pm (6 years ago)

    This is a perfect form to capture your experience, Kay. Your poem is infused with Wesley’s words.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      June 21, 2018 at 8:33 pm (6 years ago)

      Thanks, Laura. Now to look for more quotes to go with more places!

      Reply
  3. Tabatha
    June 18, 2018 at 9:58 am (6 years ago)

    Enjoyed seeing the chapel and library and especially you and your daughter!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      June 21, 2018 at 8:33 pm (6 years ago)

      Thanks, Tabatha. Seeing my daughter was the best part of the trip!

      Reply
  4. Diane Mayr
    June 17, 2018 at 1:25 pm (6 years ago)

    Well done, Kay! Your golden shovel flows naturally and unforced.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      June 21, 2018 at 8:33 pm (6 years ago)

      Thanks, Diane. It is so hard for me to find a natural flow. Your words mean a lot.

      Reply
  5. Kathryn Apel
    June 17, 2018 at 8:28 am (6 years ago)

    John (and Charles) Wesley were faithful, fervent men. Thank-you so much for sharing these glimpses into John’s life. I love how you have woven knowledge you gained from your travels, into this factual golden shovel.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      June 21, 2018 at 8:32 pm (6 years ago)

      Thanks, Kathryn. I’ve enjoyed learning more about John and Charles from our visit.

      Reply
  6. Carol Wilcox
    June 16, 2018 at 9:08 am (6 years ago)

    I grew up in the Methodist church and have always been fascinated by John Wesley. Such a man of faith! My favorite picture is of the prayer bench. I need to spend more time on my knees. And I love the quote you have chosen, and how you captured his life through the golden shovel. Just perfect!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      June 16, 2018 at 2:42 pm (6 years ago)

      Thanks, Carol. I agree–JW is a fascinating person. The prayer bench is what impressed me the most from our visit. The tour guide said we could kneel at it, but I was afraid it would break! I did not want to be the person to break Wesley’s prayer bench.

      Reply
  7. Karen Edmisten
    June 15, 2018 at 9:38 pm (6 years ago)

    So lovely!
    England is one of my dream trips … one day! 🙂
    Your pictures are gorgeous, too.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      June 16, 2018 at 8:19 am (6 years ago)

      Thanks, Karen. It was definitely my dream trip!

      Reply
  8. Michelle Kogan
    June 15, 2018 at 4:43 pm (6 years ago)

    You’ve penned a loving and flowing tribute poem to John Wesley–thanks for sharing it and the photos too!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      June 16, 2018 at 8:19 am (6 years ago)

      Thanks, Michelle. I’m enjoying reliving my trip through these poems.

      Reply
  9. jama
    June 15, 2018 at 11:56 am (6 years ago)

    Wonderful to see more pics from your England trip and read your Wesley poem (I also grew up Methodist). So inspiring!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      June 15, 2018 at 3:55 pm (6 years ago)

      Thanks, Jama! The trip to visit Wesley was inspiring. I’m glad some of that comes through in my poem.

      Reply
  10. Carol Varsalona
    June 15, 2018 at 10:33 am (6 years ago)

    Kay, I see that you have great respect and love for your church and its doctrines by the route you traveled in England the care you took to create a beautiful golden shovel. I hope your poem is showcased in your church’s bulletin.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      June 15, 2018 at 3:54 pm (6 years ago)

      Thanks, Carol. I guess I should send it to church in that case. I hadn’t even thought about it.

      Reply
  11. Linda M.
    June 15, 2018 at 5:34 am (6 years ago)

    Kay, what a beautiful post. I did not grow up in the UMC….but have become a member as an adult and it’s where my children know their church home. Weley’s quote is an incredible anchor for your golden shovel. Each year, my church has a lenten devotional written by parishioners. You make me think that I could participate with poetry. I love how you take Wesley’s words and make them part of you through writing. God’s love warming each heart. Amen. Great post! Thank you for sharing this part of your trip.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      June 15, 2018 at 6:49 am (6 years ago)

      Thanks, Linda. The hard part was deciding which quote from Wesley to use! When I saw Donna share this one, I knew I wanted to write with it. Definitely contribute a poem for your church’s Lenten devotional. I’ve enjoyed sonnets by Malcolm Guite–the collection I read follows the liturgical year, and his parish (he’s an Anglican priest in England) uses poetry in their services, too.

      Reply
  12. Linda Baie
    June 14, 2018 at 11:15 pm (6 years ago)

    I do love that you are capturing this special trip in your poems along with pictures, too, Kay. This is wonderful to include so much. I like the voice speaking to him.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      June 15, 2018 at 6:47 am (6 years ago)

      Thanks, Linda! I’ve been surprised at the different voices that have emerged from this project.

      Reply
  13. Donna
    June 14, 2018 at 8:49 pm (6 years ago)

    Your admiration for Wesley comes shining through in your poetic remembrance of your experience! I love it!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      June 14, 2018 at 9:08 pm (6 years ago)

      Thanks, Donna! I was inspired by the visit–and eager to learn more!

      Reply

Leave a Reply