Poetry Friday: Secrets

I am enjoying following Amy Ludwig VanDerwater over at The Poem Farm throughout National Poetry Month. She is exploring 1 Subject 30 Ways, using lessons from her book Poems are Teachers. Check out her poems exploring the constellation Orion.

I may have fallen a day or two behind, but I am learning much about the story of Little Red Riding Hood by approaching it with a different poem and technique each day. I’m also starting a list of ideas I want to continue writing different poems with some of them. The poem I share today comes from the lesson on April 9, Inspired By a Question.

Here are my notebook pages:

and the poem…

Secrets

Secrets once whispered
from the steps
of a tower strong
are now
welling up,
swelling up.

Secrets once buried
in the folds
of a crimson cloak
are now
shaken out,
blown about.

Secrets once hidden
in the creases
of my  mother’s face
are now
set free
revealed to me.

Secrets now demand
their liberty.

Each Friday, I am excited to take part in Poetry Friday, where writers share their love of all things poetry. Tabatha hosts the Poetry Friday Roundup today at  The Opposite of Indifference.  She is celebrating the release of Imperfect, an anthology of poetry about mistakes for middle schoolers. Drop by and see what poetry morsels are offered this week.

20 Comments on Poetry Friday: Secrets

  1. Joyce Ray
    April 23, 2018 at 3:44 pm (6 years ago)

    I love this idea! Inspiration is everywhere, especially in places we might overlook. The last two lines of each stanza are effective with their repetitive style. I love seeing your process through the notes, too.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      April 25, 2018 at 9:07 pm (6 years ago)

      Thanks, Joyce. It’s amazing what inspiration I am finding once I start looking for it!

      Reply
  2. Mary Lee Hahn
    April 22, 2018 at 10:36 am (6 years ago)

    How interesting to use Amy’s project with Little Red Riding Hood!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      April 25, 2018 at 9:06 pm (6 years ago)

      Thanks, Mary Lee. It has been interestingjk!

      Reply
  3. Ruth (thereisnosuchthingasagodforsakentown.blogspot.com)
    April 21, 2018 at 6:49 pm (6 years ago)

    Such a great project! Thanks for sharing it!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      April 21, 2018 at 8:31 pm (6 years ago)

      Thanks, Ruth!

      Reply
  4. Kiesha Shepard
    April 21, 2018 at 5:33 pm (6 years ago)

    Love the repetition and vivid images your words have created, Kay! I appreciate you sharing your creative process as well. Also, thank you for dropping by the ridge to offer some great writerly advice for keeping up with my personal writing! You’re right, whether it’s fifteen minutes a day or five, it’s something.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      April 21, 2018 at 8:31 pm (6 years ago)

      Thanks, Keisha. Some days, five minutes is all I have! But at least I’m writing.

      Reply
  5. Kimberly M. Hutmacher
    April 21, 2018 at 2:23 pm (6 years ago)

    I really enjoyed your poem. Love the form and how the idea for it came about.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      April 21, 2018 at 2:31 pm (6 years ago)

      Thanks, Kimberly. It’s been a great month of writing even if not all the poems turn out like I want them to.

      Reply
  6. Linda Baie
    April 20, 2018 at 11:34 pm (6 years ago)

    The form and the idea of your poem research is wonderful, Kay. I like that each verse gives away some of the mystery of Red. There are many versions as I’m sure you are discovering. Awesome project!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      April 21, 2018 at 9:02 am (6 years ago)

      Thanks, Linda! There are many versions. At this point, I’m trying to avoid them to let my own ideas percolate. I am definitely learning a lot from the experience.

      Reply
  7. Brenda
    April 20, 2018 at 1:21 pm (6 years ago)

    What a cool undertaking. I hope Red whispers all her secrets to you.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      April 20, 2018 at 2:40 pm (6 years ago)

      Thanks, Brenda! Me, too!

      Reply
  8. jama
    April 20, 2018 at 1:16 pm (6 years ago)

    Love that you’re approaching Red Riding Hood in this novel way, Kay. I especially like the second stanza in your poem – and of course that ending!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      April 20, 2018 at 2:40 pm (6 years ago)

      Thanks, Jama. I find writing endings hard, so I’m glad this one works!

      Reply
  9. Tabatha
    April 20, 2018 at 1:12 pm (6 years ago)

    Very nice, Kay! I like the rhythm and the air of mystery.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      April 20, 2018 at 2:39 pm (6 years ago)

      Thanks Tabatha! I had fun writing this one.

      Reply
  10. Laura Shovan
    April 20, 2018 at 11:28 am (6 years ago)

    Whoa. Those last few lines are surprising and hit their mark, Kay. I’m about to do a fractured fairy tale poem workshop with third graders, so I love seeing your process here.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      April 20, 2018 at 12:56 pm (6 years ago)

      Thanks, Laura! As I brainstormed questions, secrets kept popping up. Have fun with the workshop. I’m not much bigger than a third grader–I could sit in!

      Reply

Leave a Reply