Poetry Friday: More Ekphrastic Poetry

The challenge: to write a poem every day through the month of February in response to a piece of art. Voila! I’m practicing my first attempt at Ekphrastic poetry thanks to Laura Shovan, who hosts a February Poetry Project each year in honor of her birthday every year.  You can read about it’s past and present incarnation here.

I’ve almost made it! Next Friday will be March, and so far I have managed to write and share a poem in response to art every day. I think I will make it all the way till the end of the month. Some days are easier to write than others, and I like some of my efforts better than others. Here are a few of my favorites from the week.

I tried my first triolet this week. I first learned of it from a challenge by the Poetry Princesses. i loved the the gentle feeling created by the rhyme and repetition. I saved their posts and waited for an opportunity to try it for myself. This unsigned painting shared by Molly Hogan (she found it at the free shopping area of her local Recycling Barn) was the perfect invitation.

COME

Come to the woods and be still
Sit and breathe in its peace
Listen for a bird’s soft trill
Come to the woods and be still
Rest beside a trickling rill
From your daily toils cease
Come to the woods and be still
Sit and breathe in its peace

I had much on my mind when I wrote this poem in response to a charcoal carving Christine Wyman brought back from outside the Bwindi Impenetrable National Park in Uganda. I’m not sure it completely works, but It’s a start of something I want to come back to later.

TEACH US

Before you disappear
into your misty mountains
and impenetrable forests,
teach us to bear the weight
of our children on our backs
until they grow strong enough
to walk beside us.
Teach us to weave nets
of dreams instead of vines
to cradle our children
and ourselves while we rest
from the dangers and toils
of modern life that threaten
to overwhelm us
with nightmares
of extinction.

Finally, just for fun, I wrote this limerick to accompany this delightful illustration “Winter Gator” by John Herzog, shared by Rebecca Herzog.

There once was a gator named Flo
who liked to take walks in the snow.
She’d glide all day long
while humming a song
and watching the cold north wind blow.

Each Friday, I am excited to take part in Poetry Friday, where writers share their love of all things poetry. Liz hosts the Poetry Friday Roundup today at Elizabeth Steinglass.  She extends an invitation to reflect on why we’re here with a beautiful poem of concrete details that point to what matters and another iteration of what can be written using a powerful mentor text: George Ella Lyon’s “Where I’m From.” Drop by and see what poetry morsels are offered this week.

15 Comments on Poetry Friday: More Ekphrastic Poetry

  1. Carol Varsalona
    September 17, 2018 at 3:22 pm (6 years ago)

    It is always great to remember our February writing days with our community of friendly writers!

    Reply
  2. Brenda
    March 1, 2018 at 9:16 am (6 years ago)

    Sad the challenge is ending. It was fun to have a smorgasbord of art to inspire.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      March 1, 2018 at 1:55 pm (6 years ago)

      It has been a great month of writing, sharing and reading poetry with some fabulous art for inspiration!

      Reply
  3. Kiesha Shepard
    February 24, 2018 at 4:02 pm (6 years ago)

    “Come to the woods…” I love that you have written about the peaceful woods this week, Kay! It is a place to retreat and it does also serve as a teacher. I like your combination of poems!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      February 24, 2018 at 4:33 pm (6 years ago)

      Thank you, Keisha. The woods are definitely a place a choose for retreat. I’m ready for a break in the rain so I can retreat to them–or maybe just a good raincoat and boots!

      Reply
  4. Diane Mayr
    February 24, 2018 at 2:58 pm (6 years ago)

    We’ve been having fun–and learning, too–what a great combination!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      February 24, 2018 at 10:54 pm (6 years ago)

      Yes, we have been having fun! I’ve learned so much from the experience!

      Reply
  5. Linda Mitchell
    February 24, 2018 at 7:20 am (6 years ago)

    Hooray! You’re almost there and you’ve written some gorgeous pieces!

    …teach us to bear the weight
    of our children on our backs…

    …From your daily toils cease
    Come to the woods and be still…

    I’m proud of you and happy to be your poetry online friend. I learn from you and gain support in seeing you meet the challenge. I’m behind by two poems. I’m hoping to catch up today. I love the feeling of being able to do this…to write every day.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      February 24, 2018 at 12:18 pm (6 years ago)

      Thanks, Linda! I’ll be looking for your poems. I am glad we can learn from and support each other.

      Reply
  6. Liz
    February 23, 2018 at 6:39 pm (6 years ago)

    These are all wonderful in completely different ways. I especially love the triolet. I think your topic is perfect for the repetition. It’s almost like a prayer or a meditation. Thanks for sharing these.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      February 24, 2018 at 12:17 pm (6 years ago)

      Thanks, Liz. I think the triolet was my favorite from the week. Now I’m waiting for a break in all this rain to go sit in the woods.

      Reply
  7. Alice Nine
    February 23, 2018 at 1:32 pm (6 years ago)

    Congrats on your unbroken participation so far. I, too, have been enjoying this challenge, and I mean “challenge.” And I’ve made it every day so far. The three you shared here are keepers! Here’s to the remaining five days.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      February 23, 2018 at 3:05 pm (6 years ago)

      Thanks Alice! I’ve enjoyed reading your poems each day. We are going to make it!

      Reply
  8. jama
    February 23, 2018 at 12:57 pm (6 years ago)

    Congrats on a successful writing challenge month, Kay. Enjoyed the poems you shared today. The triolet is so lovely and lyrical, and “Teach Us,” thought provoking.

    “Teach us to weave nets
    of dreams instead of vines” = yes!
    to cradle our children

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      February 23, 2018 at 3:05 pm (6 years ago)

      Thanks, Jama. It’s been quite a challenge this month.

      Reply

Leave a Reply