Poetry Friday: Known

KNOWN

I map the contours
of your heart, the journey you’ve lived
and declare it good.

This past week I have been taking part in the #haikuforhealing. Thank you, Mary Lee, for hosting this again. I’ve also combined it with an Advent focus offered by RethinkChurch to share a photo each day of Advent that reflects a chosen word for the day. As I discussed with a friend who is also sharing photos (but with another group’s list of words), the process of reflecting on the word, searching for an image, and then writing a haiku focuses both my mind and heart.

Each Friday, I am excited to take part in Poetry Friday, where writers share their love of all things poetry. Lisa has the Poetry Friday Roundup today at Steps and Staircases. She offers a visual feast of poetry with a poignant poem on grief. Drop by and see what poetry morsels are offered this week  and a preview for next week, too.

24 Comments on Poetry Friday: Known

  1. Mary Lee Hahn
    December 15, 2017 at 8:29 pm (6 years ago)

    I’ve enjoyed your #haikuforhealing! Thanks for coming along on the journey!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      December 15, 2017 at 10:02 pm (6 years ago)

      Thank you, Mary Lee, for getting the ball rolling!

      Reply
  2. Michelle Kogan
    December 12, 2017 at 1:22 am (6 years ago)

    I really like how you combined your haiku with the roadmap–all ties together so well the image, the lyrical haiku and the colors, thanks Kaye!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      December 12, 2017 at 10:30 am (6 years ago)

      Thanks, Michelle! I’m enjoying the challenge of tying all these things together each day. It definitely expands my creative thinking!

      Reply
  3. Tabatha
    December 11, 2017 at 5:15 am (6 years ago)

    Really lovely, Kay. Thanks for this. (I am late getting around for Poetry Friday because we’ve had the stomach flu going around my house! Ack. It hasn’t gotten me…yet…)

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      December 11, 2017 at 9:50 am (6 years ago)

      Thanks, Tabatha. I hope you avoid the stomach flu and that the rest of your household is feeling much better.

      Reply
  4. Lisa
    December 10, 2017 at 6:28 pm (6 years ago)

    Thank you for sharing this thoughtful haiku, Kay. I’m gathering up the visual images shared for Poetry Friday–If it works, I will link back to your post, too.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      December 11, 2017 at 9:49 am (6 years ago)

      Thanks, Lisa. I can’t wait to see all the images gathered. There are a lot of really cool combinations.

      Reply
  5. Molly Hogan
    December 10, 2017 at 8:02 am (6 years ago)

    This is so affirming and accepting–such a welcome change of pace. Love the image as well!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      December 10, 2017 at 2:54 pm (6 years ago)

      Thanks, Molly. I’m having fun with learning a new photo app on my phone to create these.

      Reply
  6. Brenda
    December 10, 2017 at 12:48 am (6 years ago)

    It’s wonderful to be known, accepted, plumbed and not dunned.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      December 10, 2017 at 2:54 pm (6 years ago)

      Thanks, Brenda. I agree!

      Reply
  7. Donna Smith
    December 9, 2017 at 3:51 pm (6 years ago)

    Love it, so well-stated. Solid and comforting.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      December 10, 2017 at 2:53 pm (6 years ago)

      Thank you, Donna. I am looking for comfort this Advent.

      Reply
  8. Laura Shovan
    December 9, 2017 at 3:24 pm (6 years ago)

    Beautiful haiku, Kay.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      December 10, 2017 at 2:53 pm (6 years ago)

      Thank you, Laura.

      Reply
  9. Linda Baie
    December 9, 2017 at 12:10 pm (6 years ago)

    I love the way you presented the image, Kay, and then the haiku sentiment. It is beautiful.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      December 9, 2017 at 12:26 pm (6 years ago)

      Thank you, Linda.

      Reply
  10. Linda Mitchell
    December 9, 2017 at 11:05 am (6 years ago)

    That is a beautiful haiku/haiga! I love the last line…declare it good. Wonderful for advent.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      December 9, 2017 at 12:25 pm (6 years ago)

      Thanks, Linda! I am looking for signs of hope this Advent.

      Reply
  11. Kathryn Apel
    December 9, 2017 at 7:53 am (6 years ago)

    Beautiful, Kay. Your project sound fascinating and rewarding, too.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      December 9, 2017 at 9:49 am (6 years ago)

      Thanks, Kat. I do find it rewarding.

      Reply
  12. jama
    December 8, 2017 at 1:20 pm (6 years ago)

    Lovely haiku. I like considering the contours of one’s heart . . . 🙂

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      December 8, 2017 at 5:36 pm (6 years ago)

      Thanks, Jama!

      Reply

Leave a Reply