Poetry Friday: Poetry Cubed Accepted

Today’s poem comes thanks to Matt Forest, who once again offered a Poetry Cubed challenge for this month. Check out his blog over at Radio, Rhythm and Rhyme to learn more about the challenge. There’s even time to take part, if you hurry! Be sure to check out all the poems offered so far!

First, I have to confess I broke one of the rules by spending more time than just a quick write in response, but I did have fun with it. I have been wanting to write about an experience from my teen years, but couldn’t figure out how to get into it. For some reason, the three images from this challenge sparked an idea that allowed a way into my very own experience with an urban legend.

One of the rites of passage for teens in my county was to track down a local ghost story by driving down a winding, country road (the trick was to find someone who knew the way) late at night to see your headlights reflect off the whirling blades of towering sculptures. The story claimed that the man who created them did so because his teenage daughter had taken the curve too fast and was killed when her car slammed into a tree. The sculptures were meant to be a warning to other drivers to slow down and avoid crashing. Supposedly, if you drove past late at night, you would hear the screams of the dying girl. One night, I rode by with a group of friends. We were all convinced that we heard the screams, but that may have been our own screams from the backseat.

There is absolutely no basis in fact for this story. The artist, Vollis Simpson, did not have a daughter killed in a car crash around that curve or any other. I’m not sure he even had a daughter, but the real story is just as cool. He began building the sculptures on his farm and soon people from all around the country began driving to see them. Now they have been preserved and moved to a new park in my hometown of Wilson, NC. You can read about it here and see photos of some of the sculptures, but you really need to see them in motion to get the full effect. Here’s a video of the grand opening of the park.

The Ghosts of Art

Headlights slash
flickering shadows
through the trees
to glitter against
the metal skeletons
whirling in the wind.
Whimsical sculptures
sprinkle light
with twirling blades
to shine a beacon
for unwary drivers
rounding the fateful curve
where no one really died.
But still the screams
echo from the backseat
as we chase a ghost
who only lived in legend.

Each Friday, I am excited to take part in Poetry Friday, where writers share their love of all things poetry. Carol has the Poetry Friday Roundup today at Carol’s Corner. She shares her reaction to a very important book: Schomburg: The Man Who Built a Library by Carol Boston Weatherford. You don’t won’t to miss this one. Drop by and see what poetry morsels are offered this week .

24 Comments on Poetry Friday: Poetry Cubed Accepted

  1. Laura Shovan
    November 30, 2017 at 6:50 pm (6 years ago)

    Kay, I’m late to this post, but so glad to find it! I have a friend who lives in Wilson and she took me to see these whirligigs. They are remarkable. Your own backstory about late-night ghost hunting adds an extra layer of homespun to their appeal.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      November 30, 2017 at 8:39 pm (6 years ago)

      Thanks, Laura. What a small world! I’m glad you’ve gotten to see them. I’m looking forward to seeing them in the new park when we go home for Christmas.

      Reply
  2. Violet N.
    November 27, 2017 at 1:44 am (6 years ago)

    This is so interesting, Kay! Thanks for sharing a bit of your town and how you’re connected to the legend. You’ve captured the fantasy and the facts beautifully in your poem.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      November 30, 2017 at 8:38 pm (6 years ago)

      Thank you, Violet. The more I learn about these sculptures and the artist, the more I’m fascinated.

      Reply
  3. Kathryn Apel
    November 25, 2017 at 9:37 pm (6 years ago)

    Your short burst lines work so well with this, Kay – and so much poetry wordplay. Love the story behind the poem, too – and that the artworks have been preserved!

    Reply
    • Kay McGriff
      November 25, 2017 at 10:02 pm (6 years ago)

      Thanks, Kat. I am looking forward to seeing the art in their new home. And my mom is already sharing the poem with friends who knew the artist.

      Reply
  4. Matt Forrest Esenwine
    November 25, 2017 at 8:59 pm (6 years ago)

    Kay, as I told you in my email, I love all these short little bursts of lines which provide an energy to the imagery and emotion. And I’m so happy that my challenge helped you write something you’ve been wanting to write for so long! Thank you for taking on the challenge. And I’ll definitely be sharing this in next Friday’s post!

    Reply
    • Kay McGriff
      November 25, 2017 at 10:01 pm (6 years ago)

      Thanks, Matt! I’ve enjoyed your poetry cubed challenges. I’m not sure what I like better–writing in response or reading all the other responses. They are quite a lesson in creativity.

      Reply
  5. Margaret Simon
    November 25, 2017 at 8:20 pm (6 years ago)

    I love this ghost story and the discovery of how the art was not part of the legend around it. You captured this in your poem. The short lines give a rhythm of starting and stopping as if rounding the curve in earnest.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      November 25, 2017 at 8:38 pm (6 years ago)

      Thanks, Margaret. Rounding that curve was a rite of passage, but I’m even more excited to enjoy the art for itself and its creator. I’m looking forward to seeing the new park when we go home.

      Reply
  6. Michelle Kogan
    November 25, 2017 at 2:01 am (6 years ago)

    Oh, what a wonderful story you’ve woven in this poem Kay, and it was inspired by the images on Matts post! Thanks for sharing the whirligigs too.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      November 25, 2017 at 9:58 am (6 years ago)

      Thanks, Michelle. I’m glad you enjoyed it

      Reply
  7. Sally Murphy
    November 24, 2017 at 11:46 pm (6 years ago)

    i love that Matt’s prompts gave you the way in to sharing your story. What cool sculptures, too.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      November 25, 2017 at 9:58 am (6 years ago)

      Me, too, Sally! Aren’t those sculptures incredible?

      Reply
  8. Linda Baie
    November 24, 2017 at 9:51 pm (6 years ago)

    Isn’t it amazing how legends grow? The picture and video of those sculptures show huge dedication by the artist, Kay. I love that Matt’s challenge caused a poem about something in your county and a memory of yours.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      November 25, 2017 at 9:57 am (6 years ago)

      Thanks, Linda. I’m glad for Matt’s challenge, too. I’ve been wanting to write about this for a while, but couldn’t quite get started until I got that spark.

      Reply
  9. Buffy Silverman
    November 24, 2017 at 7:02 pm (6 years ago)

    Love how your poem ties the local legend to the real origin of the sculpture park–very nice!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      November 25, 2017 at 9:57 am (6 years ago)

      Thanks, Buffy. That was what I was trying to do. I’m glad it works!

      Reply
  10. Mary Lee Hahn
    November 24, 2017 at 6:09 pm (6 years ago)

    What a unique response to Matt’s three images! Thanks for the back story!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      November 25, 2017 at 9:56 am (6 years ago)

      Thanks, Mary Lee.

      Reply
  11. Carol Wilcox
    November 24, 2017 at 12:18 pm (6 years ago)

    I love these sculptures and the story behind them! I also love your poem- I think all of us have scary stories like this we could share!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      November 25, 2017 at 9:56 am (6 years ago)

      Thanks, Carol. I’m looking forward to seeing the new park when we go home over Christmas!

      Reply
  12. Brenda
    November 24, 2017 at 11:43 am (6 years ago)

    How legends are born, become moral tales and take on lives of their own. Fascinating.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      November 25, 2017 at 9:55 am (6 years ago)

      Thanks, Brenda. I’ve always been fascinated with the legend and the art.

      Reply

Leave a Reply