Poetry Friday: Waiting

Today’s  Poetry Friday offering comes thanks to Laura Purdie Salas’s weekly challenge to write a poem in 15 words or less. Check out the photo and invitation from yesterday. Here is where my thoughts wandered:

Waiting

Falling leaves
reveal gaps
that must
wait
through
winter
before
next year’s
growth
blooms
anew.

Each Friday, I am excited to take part in Poetry Friday, where writers share their love of all things poetry. Jane has the Poetry Friday Roundup today at Raincity Librarian. She shares haiku from her trip to Japan. Drop by and see what poetry morsels are offered this week .

12 Comments on Poetry Friday: Waiting

  1. Brenda
    November 21, 2017 at 9:23 am (6 years ago)

    Beautiful sense of hope.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      November 24, 2017 at 10:34 am (6 years ago)

      Thank you, Brenda

      Reply
  2. Kathryn Apel
    November 19, 2017 at 3:51 am (6 years ago)

    Wonderful use of word economy, Kay. We are not so good at ‘Waiting’ these days… but nature keeps giving gentle nudges.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      November 19, 2017 at 8:44 pm (6 years ago)

      Thanks, Kat. No, I am not good at all at waiting. I think sometimes my poems are reminders for me.

      Reply
  3. Sally Murphy
    November 18, 2017 at 7:14 am (6 years ago)

    Amazing what just fifteen words can say.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      November 18, 2017 at 10:03 am (6 years ago)

      Thank you, Sally!

      Reply
  4. Linda Baie
    November 18, 2017 at 12:26 am (6 years ago)

    I love how you’ve approached Laura’s picture, Kay. It is amazing the depth that 15 words can seek. This is beautiful, and I like your arrangement!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      November 18, 2017 at 10:03 am (6 years ago)

      Thank you, Linda! I was likewise amazed at all the different directions the other poems took. It is incredible how much can be said in just 15 words.

      Reply
  5. Kerry Aradhya
    November 18, 2017 at 12:20 am (6 years ago)

    Hi, Kay. I love the idea of writing a poem in less than 15 words. Well done! The first line–“Falling leaves”–brought the image of falling leaves to my mind…and then it was fun to switch gears a little and imagine what was left behind after the leaves fell. Something we don’t think about quite as often 🙂

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      November 18, 2017 at 10:02 am (6 years ago)

      Thanks, Kerry. I’ve just done a few of Laura’s 15 words or less challenges, but I do like them. Somehow 15 words doesn’t seem too intimidating but the limit forces careful consideration for each word choice. I’m usually surprised by where my writing leads me.

      Reply
  6. Michelle Kogan
    November 17, 2017 at 7:06 pm (6 years ago)

    I like the breath in this poem Kay, the gaps–slowing us down to take in time–life. I’m here reading this after visiting Jama’s blog and Kate Coomb’s book on Breath, and your poem serendipitously flows very well after reading about Mindfulness,thanksa1

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      November 17, 2017 at 9:21 pm (6 years ago)

      Thanks, Michelle. I can’t wait to read Kate’s book. I am loving hearing more about it with all the blog interviews.

      Reply

Leave a Reply