Poetry Friday: Writing Seeds

Check out the May DMC Challenge wrap-up hosted by Michelle Barnes at Today’s Little Ditty. This month’s challenge was offered by Melissa Manlove, Senior Editor at Chronicle Books: Write a poem that explores how writing (or a book) is like something else. I’m late to the game, but here is my poem exploring writing compared to something else.

Writing Seeds

Ideas skitter
across my brain
like helicopter seeds
spinning through the air
beneath the maple tree.
An idea plops down
in the fertile soil
of imagination and memory.
Words sprout up
and unfurl their leaves
to stretch toward the sun.
Word by word
the story grows.

Each Friday, I am excited to take part in Poetry Friday, where writers share their love of all things poetry. Margaret has the Poetry Friday Roundup today at Reflections on the Teche. Stop by and see what poetry morsels are offered this week. 

20 Comments on Poetry Friday: Writing Seeds

  1. Laura Shovan
    May 30, 2017 at 7:09 pm (7 years ago)

    I love that you chose a specific type of seed for this metaphor because it creates a visual and tactile image. Yes, ideas spin like helicopter seeds until we plant them on the page.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      June 2, 2017 at 8:28 am (7 years ago)

      Thanks! The seeds have been prolific this year, and I was inspired by seeing them sprout everywhere!

      Reply
  2. Michelle Kogan
    May 29, 2017 at 1:39 am (7 years ago)

    The helicopter seeds mark time for me each year and I anticipate their falling. I enjoyed your helicopter line,
    “like helicopter seeds
    spinning through the air”

    And your title is perfect!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      June 2, 2017 at 8:27 am (7 years ago)

      Thank you! It is the season for them here!

      Reply
  3. Margaret Simon
    May 27, 2017 at 12:32 pm (7 years ago)

    Helicopter seeds, I could use some of those today. Thanks for sharing your fun poem of ideas growing into stories.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      May 27, 2017 at 1:42 pm (7 years ago)

      We have plenty of helicopter seeds to spare–and quite a few already sprouting into maple seedlings.

      Reply
  4. Tabatha
    May 27, 2017 at 11:23 am (7 years ago)

    It’s hard to tell sometimes which ones will take, isn’t it? Nice verbs! I like “skittering” and “plop” in particular.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      May 27, 2017 at 1:42 pm (7 years ago)

      Thank you. I wasn’t sure at first if this idea was going to take. I had several starts.

      Reply
  5. Mary Lee Hahn
    May 27, 2017 at 7:15 am (7 years ago)

    I like your metaphor! I was late to the game to…and wrote about plants, too!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      May 27, 2017 at 1:41 pm (7 years ago)

      Thank you! I’ll be over to read more words growing!

      Reply
  6. Michelle Heidenrich Barnes
    May 26, 2017 at 4:59 pm (7 years ago)

    From the skitter of an idea to the final stretch, I love the story of this poem, Kay! Nicely done!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      May 27, 2017 at 1:41 pm (7 years ago)

      Thank you!

      Reply
  7. Bridget Magee
    May 26, 2017 at 12:54 pm (7 years ago)

    Yes! I love this analogy, Kay! I will never look at a maple tree in the spring the same way again. =)

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      May 26, 2017 at 1:37 pm (7 years ago)

      Thank you! I hope writing this poem will help me appreciate all the maple trees sprouting up all over the garden bets.

      Reply
  8. Linda Baie
    May 26, 2017 at 12:47 pm (7 years ago)

    Yep! “Words sprout” and before you know it, the leaves and fruit are there! Love this comparison, Kay.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      May 26, 2017 at 1:37 pm (7 years ago)

      Thank you! I love it when the words do sprout out instead of landing on concrete!

      Reply
  9. jama
    May 26, 2017 at 12:31 pm (7 years ago)

    Nice job! Perfect ending. 🙂

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      May 26, 2017 at 1:36 pm (7 years ago)

      Thank you! I struggle with writing endings.

      Reply
  10. Brenda Harsham
    May 26, 2017 at 8:45 am (7 years ago)

    I love helicopter seed moments. 🙂 Great analogy.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      May 26, 2017 at 10:28 am (7 years ago)

      Thanks! We’ve been blessed with an abundance of them this year!

      Reply

Leave a Reply