Poetry Friday: Lenten Reflections

This season of Lent I have been (somewhat unsuccessfully) taking part in a photo challenge. For each day of Lent, I am challenged to take a photo to represent the given word. In addition to the photos, I have added a short poetic response as well. Even though I’ve missed a few days, I appreciate the time to slow down and notice what is around me and connect those images to larger themes. Both the photography and the poetry help me to notice. Here are a few of the ones so far from my journey.

Human, unclench your fists.
Stretch forth open hands
to pray and serve.

Begin your journey
with God to light your way.
Each step moves toward love.

When life drains all hope,
I wait, empty and desolate,
for love to reign once more.

Silence blooms
in peaceful waiting.
Listen now.

Each Friday, I am excited to take part in Poetry Friday, where writers share their love of all things poetry. Robyn has the Poetry Friday Roundup today at Life on the Deckle Edge. Drop by and see what poetry morsels are offered this week.

18 Comments on Poetry Friday: Lenten Reflections

    • Mrs. McGriff
      March 22, 2017 at 11:23 am (7 years ago)

      What fun! Thank you!

      Reply
  1. Robyn Hood Black
    March 20, 2017 at 1:16 pm (7 years ago)

    Thank you for this invitation to pause and reflect, Kay – wishing you a season of peace and inspiration.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      March 20, 2017 at 2:51 pm (7 years ago)

      Thank you, Robyn. The same peace and inspiration to you.

      Reply
  2. Brenda Harsham
    March 19, 2017 at 8:39 am (7 years ago)

    Those are sweet, meditative poems. What delightful photos, too.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      March 19, 2017 at 8:49 am (7 years ago)

      Thank you, Brenda. I’ve enjoyed searching for the images and writing words to go with them.

      Reply
  3. Heidi Mordhorst
    March 19, 2017 at 8:02 am (7 years ago)

    Hi, Kay– I like your photo/verse combinations. I think the first and last go well together, a little mantra for these times. Action and patience.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      March 19, 2017 at 8:39 am (7 years ago)

      Thanks, Heidi. I hadn’t read those together, but you are right. They do fit together well for these times.

      Reply
  4. Michelle Kogan
    March 18, 2017 at 8:49 pm (7 years ago)

    Thanks for your soulful and contemplative poem images Kay, I especially like your last one, which says much with few words!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      March 19, 2017 at 8:38 am (7 years ago)

      Thank you, Michelle. I’m glad you liked them.

      Reply
  5. Violet N.
    March 18, 2017 at 12:58 pm (7 years ago)

    Mrs. McGiff – I do love these! I too looked at the site that was offering a photo prompt a day through Lent and considered joining in, but it wasn’t right for me this year. I love what you’re doing here. Photography plus words are a powerful duo to help one pay attention, aren’t they?

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      March 18, 2017 at 4:09 pm (7 years ago)

      Thank you, Violet! I did just the photo a day for Advent and enjoyed it. I’ve missed a few days during Lent, but I just pick up again

      Reply
  6. Linda Mitchell
    March 18, 2017 at 8:07 am (7 years ago)

    Kay, these are wonderful! Take a step back and see the beauty you have found and shared from your focus. My pastor told us last week told our congregation that participation in lent is equal to a year’s spiritual journey. That really hit me….made me wonder about my own participation. I think you are doing a marvelous work with these images and haiga. Really, nicely done. I hope you feel the growth that shows.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      March 18, 2017 at 10:49 am (7 years ago)

      Thank you, Linda. I do find that stopping to reflect–both through choosing the image and writing–help my own growth.

      Reply
  7. Linda Baie
    March 17, 2017 at 10:02 pm (7 years ago)

    Oh,Kay, what a lovely challenge and the ones you share are good. I like that final one very much, should be posted near my desk to remind me. Thanks!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      March 18, 2017 at 10:48 am (7 years ago)

      Thank you, Linda. I find that I am writing what I need to hear.

      Reply
  8. jama
    March 17, 2017 at 9:23 pm (7 years ago)

    These are just lovely, Kay! Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      March 17, 2017 at 9:34 pm (7 years ago)

      Thank you for reading!

      Reply

Leave a Reply