Poetry Friday: Our Life’s Anthem

This month I’m taking part in Laura Shovan’s annual poem project, which invites poets to write a poem a day during the month of February. This month’s challenge is #10FoundWords. Each day someone from the community shares a news story, speech or current event and chooses ten words from it for us to use to write a poem. You can find out more about it here and still join in the fun.

Confession: I have not been keeping up with the poem a day this past week. Instead, I spent a week in Puerto Rico. I wrote a poem the first few days, but then vacation brain took over, and I just enjoyed the sun, sand, surf, rain forest, snuba experience, paddleboarding, kayaking and lots of good Puerto Rican food. I suspect there will be many poems to come form the trip, but the #10FoundWords just aren’t lending themselves to my vacation experience. Here are a few picture from the trip. I can’t wait to go back.

Now that I’m back, I plan to get back in to the swing of a poem and day (and maybe two to catch up). I wrote this one from Day 19 in honor of the upcoming 25th wedding anniversary for me and my husband. I can’t believe it’s been that long. I plan to come back to this one to revise it and present it as a gift to him on August 1.

Our Life’s Anthem

Twenty-five years ago
we clasped hands before an altar
to join our hearts and hopes
in allegiance to a life together.
We recited ancient vows
in a sacred ceremony
and swore an oath
to love, honor and cherish
one another
till death do us part.
Through the years
of climatic trials
and sweet victories,
we still wear the rings
we first exchanged
as symbols of our undying love.
Each day we clasp
hearts and hands and hope anew
as we create together
our life’s anthem.

Here are the words and links to the article:

Our day 19 article and words took us on the path to citizenship. Than you, Carol Wilcox

Words: oath, soulful, ceremony, allegiance, photogenic, symbolically, hopes, climactic, anthem, victory.

Article: Reborn in the USA: Inside a Citizenshp Ceremony.

Each Friday, I am excited to take part in Poetry Friday, where writers share their love of all things poetry. Karen has the Poetry Friday Roundup today at Karen Edmisten. Drop by and see what poetry morsels are offered this week.

20 Comments on Poetry Friday: Our Life’s Anthem

  1. Laura Shovan
    February 26, 2017 at 5:13 pm (7 years ago)

    Beautiful photographs. Congrats again on your anniversary!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      February 26, 2017 at 6:32 pm (7 years ago)

      Thank you!

      Reply
  2. Kiesha Shepard
    February 26, 2017 at 1:24 pm (7 years ago)

    Happy Anniversary, Kay! What a glorious view of Puerto Rico. Such a great love poem!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      February 26, 2017 at 6:32 pm (7 years ago)

      Thank you!

      Reply
  3. Linda Baie
    February 25, 2017 at 12:03 pm (7 years ago)

    It’s a beautiful and loving poem, Kay. Happy 25th anniversary! Your trip sounds and looks awesome. I love going to beaches anywhere!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      February 26, 2017 at 6:32 pm (7 years ago)

      Thank you! I agree wholeheartedly about beaches.

      Reply
  4. Linda Mitchell
    February 24, 2017 at 9:30 pm (7 years ago)

    Congratulations on 25 years! We are not far behind you….rounding the corner of 22…and it’s like ALL the old folks told us. The time really does flash by. It’s hard to believe it’s been so long when it doesn’t feel it. And, I’m jealous of Puerto Rico. Lovely photos. I’m so glad your vacation brain took over. We need that from time to time….to let our brains be slack and sleepy and ready and refreshed for what’s next. Have a great week! I’d love to know how your husband likes the poem. It’s wonderful.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      February 24, 2017 at 9:59 pm (7 years ago)

      Thank you! The time does fly by. I highly recommend Puerto Rico. I’m already mentally planning my next trip!

      Reply
  5. Violet N.
    February 24, 2017 at 7:49 pm (7 years ago)

    What a fabulous vacation! Loved your photos. And congratulations on the grand anthem of 25 years!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      February 24, 2017 at 8:47 pm (7 years ago)

      Thank you. It was a fabulous vacation, and it has been a great 25 years.

      Reply
  6. B.J. Lee
    February 24, 2017 at 2:52 pm (7 years ago)

    oooo, Puerto Rico! Sounds wonderful! Happy anniversary! Kudos to you for participating in Laura’s challenge! I had a hard time releasing any poems – as a perfectionist it’s hard for me to let go of anything until it’s, well, perfect. I need to work on that

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      February 24, 2017 at 6:08 pm (7 years ago)

      Thank you! Puerto Rico was wonderful! I find that this challenge does help me let go of perfectionism. Thank goodness it is a supportive group.

      Reply
  7. Jane @ Raincity Librarian
    February 24, 2017 at 2:28 pm (7 years ago)

    Oh, your pictures just swept me away! I visited Puerto Rico many years ago, as part of a cruise, as it was lovely – we discovered so many stray cats, which was the highlight for this cat lady. 😉 Congrats on the big anniversary!! My partner and I are celebrating our 15th anniversary this year – where does the time go?!?!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      February 24, 2017 at 2:31 pm (7 years ago)

      It is a wonderful city. I’m glad we had an entire week to explore–and we still didn’t see (or eat at) every place we wanted to Just more to go back for.

      Reply
  8. Tabatha
    February 24, 2017 at 1:54 pm (7 years ago)

    Happy Anniversary! My husband and I will also be celebrating 25 years (in May). Looks like you had a wonderful vacation!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      February 24, 2017 at 2:30 pm (7 years ago)

      Thank you! Enjoy your celebration, too.

      Reply
  9. jama
    February 24, 2017 at 1:21 pm (7 years ago)

    Congrats on your upcoming anniversary. Lovely idea to commemorate the occasion with a poem. Enjoyed seeing your Puerto Rico pics :).

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      February 24, 2017 at 2:30 pm (7 years ago)

      Thank you! I’m hoping he doesn’t find this before then!

      Reply
  10. Brenda Harsham
    February 24, 2017 at 10:28 am (7 years ago)

    Wonderful use of the words. Your trip looks awesome! I wish my hubby liked the beach. This year is our 20th.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      February 24, 2017 at 2:29 pm (7 years ago)

      Thank you! I just had to share even though they don’t go with my poem at all.

      Reply

Leave a Reply