Poetry Friday: Listening with Poetry

Listen.

My OLW for this year calls me not just to hear the noise that constantly surrounds me, but also to listen for the still, small voice underneath the noise. There’s no shortage of noise to distract me–radio, television, social media. All spout a constant stream of news and outrage and entertainment. How do I make time to listen in the midst of all this noise?

I am exploring a way to listen to my daily reading from scripture by responding to what I read with poetry. Sometimes what I hear connects very directly with what I read. Other times my listening steers me toward current events both personal and national. Here are a couple of examples from my readings this week.

Response to reading Acts 10:44-48

God’s Holy Spirit flows
like a river surging
over its banks,
floods past the boundaries
of race and creed and tradition.
God’s Holy Spirit charges
past our religious rituals
to welcome outsiders
into signing God’s praise
while we gape in disbelief.
Can we keep up
or at least stay out of the way?

And one more…response to reading Matthew 12:15-21

Hope seeps through the cracks
of a crumbling foundation
as the world threatens to crash
down around our traditions
Hope whispers a promise
to fulfill justice long denied
even as leaders grasp
ever more tightly to their lust for power.
Even in the midst of darkness,
hope grows ever toward the light.

I don’t always find a poetic response, but the process of looking and responding through poetry is deepening my listening.

Each Friday, I am excited to take part in Poetry Friday, where writers share their love of all things poetry. Keri has the Poetry Friday Roundup today at Keri Recommends. Drop by and see what poetry morsels are offered this week and check out a thought-provoking video on how we spend our time.

28 Comments on Poetry Friday: Listening with Poetry

  1. Heidi Mordhorst
    January 16, 2017 at 10:07 pm (7 years ago)

    Welcome to Poetry Friday, Kay!

    Reply
  2. Diane Mayr
    January 15, 2017 at 12:46 pm (7 years ago)

    “Hope seeps through the cracks” is a winner of a line, Kay. A bit of optimism is truly welcomed today.

    Reply
    • Kay McGriff
      January 16, 2017 at 6:56 pm (7 years ago)

      Thank you. I’m glad you liked it. There are many ways hope seeps through the cracks. Maybe that can be the start of a new poem.

      Reply
  3. Donna Smith
    January 15, 2017 at 12:06 am (7 years ago)

    I like the idea of responding to scripture with poetry. Maybe I can try that at least for my daily poem on Sunday.

    Reply
    • Kay McGriff
      January 16, 2017 at 6:55 pm (7 years ago)

      I’d love to hear how your experience goes with responding to Scripture with poetry. I hope to read some in the future!

      Reply
  4. Keri Collins Lewis
    January 14, 2017 at 5:57 pm (7 years ago)

    I love the image of the Holy Spirit charging past rituals — very powerful!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      January 14, 2017 at 8:30 pm (7 years ago)

      Me, too! The Spirit does have a way of crashing through our expectations, too!

      Reply
  5. Kiesha Shepard
    January 14, 2017 at 5:46 pm (7 years ago)

    “Hope whispers a promise…” I love that, Kay. Your response is full of emotion and a call to action. It was wonderful to read.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      January 14, 2017 at 8:30 pm (7 years ago)

      Thank you. I hope listening will lead to action throughout this year.

      Reply
  6. Laura Shovan
    January 14, 2017 at 5:13 pm (7 years ago)

    These are beautiful, Kay. The imagery of hope seeping through the cracks touched me.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      January 14, 2017 at 8:29 pm (7 years ago)

      Thank you. I am looking for hope in the most unlikely of places this year.

      Reply
  7. Mary Lee Hahn
    January 14, 2017 at 9:44 am (7 years ago)

    Lifting a line for my response:

    Hope seeps through the cracks.
    Erosion is a long, slow process,
    but it brings change, nonetheless.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      January 14, 2017 at 9:49 am (7 years ago)

      Wow! Your response is beautiful. Thank you! I love how poetry can weave together and inspire new writing.

      Reply
  8. Brenda Harsham
    January 14, 2017 at 8:50 am (7 years ago)

    I like that your listening involves responding, thinking and recording. That’s very active listening, very engaging.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      January 14, 2017 at 9:41 am (7 years ago)

      Yes, it does get me much more engaged when I’m listening and responding and thinking.

      Reply
  9. Linda Mitchell
    January 14, 2017 at 7:57 am (7 years ago)

    What a beautiful and healthy way to listen. I am so happy for you and delighted with your response. Keep going! This is going to be a beautiful year!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      January 14, 2017 at 9:41 am (7 years ago)

      Thank you! Yes, it is going to be a beautiful year.

      Reply
  10. Alice Nine
    January 13, 2017 at 9:53 pm (7 years ago)

    Your poetic responses from “listening” to your Scripture readings are wonderful! I especially like one from Acts. Thank you for sharing, Kay.

    Reply
    • Kay McGriff
      January 13, 2017 at 10:16 pm (7 years ago)

      Thanks. I’m glad you liked them. I enjoyed listening by writing them.

      Reply
  11. Leigh Anne
    January 13, 2017 at 8:38 pm (7 years ago)

    I love how your have responded to scripture with poetry. I can see how this would strengthen your time with God and deepen your listening. (Something I just may need to try.) Hope seeping through cracks makes me very hopeful, too.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      January 13, 2017 at 9:02 pm (7 years ago)

      I wasn’t sure how it would work, but I do appreciate how it helps me focus and listen more deeply. Let me know how it goes if you try it.

      Reply
  12. Linda Baie
    January 13, 2017 at 6:59 pm (7 years ago)

    An interesting pairing, and I like the second one with hope taking the lead, Kay.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      January 13, 2017 at 8:06 pm (7 years ago)

      Thanks! I do hope that hope will take the lead this coming year.

      Reply
  13. Carol Varsalona
    January 13, 2017 at 10:13 am (7 years ago)

    Kay, I like the responses you have written to scripture, especially the last one. I often write about hope and found a brass replica of the word for my husband’s Christmas stocking. It is prominently placed in my house so I will reflect on your words today: Even in the midst of darkness,
    hope grows ever toward the light.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      January 13, 2017 at 11:52 am (7 years ago)

      Yes, I keep reminding myself that hope springs eternal!

      Reply
  14. Tabatha
    January 13, 2017 at 10:04 am (7 years ago)

    I like those verbs! You may be listening quietly, but your responses have a lot of action đŸ™‚

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      January 13, 2017 at 11:51 am (7 years ago)

      I hadn’t thought about it, but listening does often lead to action. Thank you.

      Reply

Leave a Reply