Piano Pride

Fingers plink at ivory keys,
looking for the ones
that match the notes
dancing across the clefs.
Again and again
fingers stumble and trip
until at last
melody and chords
pour out in song.

PO-EMotions graphicAfter watching and reading the April poetry challenge by Mary Lee Hahn at A Year of Readingfor the past several years, I decided to write a poem a day this month. Mary Lee is hosting PO-EMotion, with a different emotion for each day of the month. Today’s focus is PRIDE. For even more poetry fun throughout April, check out the roundup of poetry celebrations and projects at Jama’s Alphabet Soup.

2 Comments on Piano Pride

  1. Mary Lee
    April 30, 2015 at 6:33 am (9 years ago)

    For me, it was hunching over the guitar, plucking strings. I did eventually get to some melodies, but becoming a famous classical guitarist will have to remain a dream…and my favorite music to listen to!

    Reply
  2. Carol
    April 30, 2015 at 5:06 am (9 years ago)

    I love your title! And I love the images of plinking and fingers stumbling and tripping. I’ve sat through several of these recitals!

    Reply

Leave a Reply