An Inconvenient Optimism

A flash of red
darts under the back porch.
A yellow beak
grasps lengths of dried grass
to tuck behind the light.
Every day I clean
out the grass behind the light.
Every day the robin
deposits more,
hoping to build its nest
in the most inconvenient spot.

PO-EMotions graphicAfter watching and reading the April poetry challenge by Mary Lee Hahn at A Year of Readingfor the past several years, I decided to write a poem a day this month. Mary Lee is hosting PO-EMotion, with a different emotion for each day of the month. Today’s focus is OPTIMISM. For even more poetry fun throughout April, check out the roundup of poetry celebrations and projects at Jama’s Alphabet Soup.

6 Comments on An Inconvenient Optimism

  1. Linda Baie
    April 30, 2015 at 9:11 am (9 years ago)

    I’ve been watching two robins all this spring, and can’t figure out where they’ve built their nest. They come visit, then go off somewhere. I hope you’ll tell us what happens! This is such a nice story, optimism or stubbornness?

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      April 30, 2015 at 1:02 pm (9 years ago)

      I suppose that depends on the point of view you take. So far the robins have not come back to the porch light, but I’m not sure where they relocated to.

      Reply
  2. Carol
    April 28, 2015 at 11:15 pm (9 years ago)

    I love the juxtaposition of inconvenient and optimism. Squirrels built a nest in my attic this spring. It cost $600 to get them and their babies out!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      April 29, 2015 at 11:39 am (9 years ago)

      Oh no! I’m glad we haven’t had squirrels move in.

      Reply
  3. Mary Lee
    April 28, 2015 at 8:41 pm (9 years ago)

    HA! So true! We had robins trying to build a next on top of our porch light. My husband finally had to put a wedge of wood on top of it to frustrate them. Every deposit they made slid right off!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      April 28, 2015 at 9:27 pm (9 years ago)

      We may have to try the wedge. They are not taking the hint when I move the grass to the lilac bushes at the end of the porch.

      Reply

Leave a Reply