Just a Glimpse

The heavens provided a peephole
through a cloudy sky.
A smear of rainbow
shimmered in midair,
no bigger than a thumbprint.
Colors–red and orange and green–danced,
hinting at the full promise
of the hidden arch.
No pot of gold teased
with empty promises
where a rainbow touched the earth.
Instead, the prism smear becckoned
us to be content with every step.

PO-EMotions graphicAfter watching and reading the April poetry challenge by Mary Lee Hahn at A Year of Readingfor the past several years, I decided to write a poem a day this month. Mary Lee is hosting PO-EMotion, with a different emotion for each day of the month. Today’s focus is CONTENTMENT. For even more poetry fun throughout April, check out the roundup of poetry celebrations and projects at Jama’s Alphabet Soup.

4 Comments on Just a Glimpse

  1. Mary Lee
    April 28, 2015 at 6:04 am (9 years ago)

    Yes. We must learn to be satisfied with what we’ve got. So very true.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      April 28, 2015 at 9:45 am (9 years ago)

      And sometimes so hard for me to remember. I think I write the lessons I need.

      Reply
  2. Carol Varsalona (@cvarsalona)
    April 27, 2015 at 11:56 pm (9 years ago)

    A wonderful sense of contentment is found in your poem, Kay. Would you happen to have a photo to accompany this for the gallery, Spring’s Symphony, that I am creating?

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      April 28, 2015 at 9:46 am (9 years ago)

      I tried taking a photo, but it didn’t turn out like I wanted. I’ll see what I can do with it.

      Reply

Leave a Reply