My Shame

I heard
the taunts
hurled
like stones
on the playground
and whispered
like a knife
that cuts
straight
to the heart.
I almost said hello,
but
I was
too afraid
and laughed
instead.

I saw her stand
alone
with her lunch
tray,
every seat
saved or filled
to shut her out.
I almost
offered
a hint of a smile,
but
I was
too afraid
and turned
away.

PO-EMotions graphicAfter watching and reading the April poetry challenge by Mary Lee Hahn at A Year of Readingfor the past several years, I decided to write a poem a day this month. Mary Lee is hosting PO-EMotion, with a different emotion for each day of the month. Today’s focus is SHAME. For even more poetry fun throughout April, check out the roundup of poetry celebrations and projects at Jama’s Alphabet Soup.

4 Comments on My Shame

  1. Carol
    April 22, 2015 at 11:19 pm (9 years ago)

    I totally agree with Mary Lee. Perfect with EACH KINDNESS. I’m sharing this with our sixth graders tomorrow.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      April 23, 2015 at 6:22 am (9 years ago)

      I’m honored. I hope the sixth graders respond to it.

      Reply
  2. Mary Lee
    April 22, 2015 at 8:08 pm (9 years ago)

    This poem would pair perfectly with EACH KINDNESS by Jacqueline Woodson. Powerful.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      April 23, 2015 at 6:21 am (9 years ago)

      That book was one of several things I had in mind when I wrote this poem.

      Reply

Leave a Reply