This Is Just to Say*

I have eaten
the last
of the chocolates
from Easter

and which
you were probably
saving
for tonight

Forgive me
they were delicious
so rich
and so creamy

they called
my name until
I could no longer resist
sinking my teeth into one

*Many thanks to William Carlos Williams for his original poem “This Is Just to Say” and to Joyce Sidman and Pamela Zagarenski for their book This Is Just to Say: Poems of Apology and Forgiveness for inspiration for my poem today.

After watching and reading the April poetry challenge by Mary Lee Hahn at A Year of Readingfor the past several years, I decided to write a poem a day this month. Mary Lee is hosting PO-EMotion, with a different emotion for each day of the month. Today’s focus is GUILT. For even more poetry fun throughout April, check out the roundup of poetry celebrations and projects at Jama’s Alphabet Soup.

10 Comments on This Is Just to Say*

  1. Cathy
    April 22, 2015 at 6:58 am (9 years ago)

    This made me smile. My husband and I finally ate the Reese’s bunny my son had left in the refrigerator when he went back to school. If he would’ve wanted it, he would have taken it. Right? Oh, those chocolate treats!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      April 22, 2015 at 10:42 am (9 years ago)

      I’m sure he left it for you to enjoy!

      Reply
  2. Carol
    April 21, 2015 at 9:37 pm (9 years ago)

    Too funny! My fourth graders LOVED this format, which they adopted after we read the book, THIS IS JUST TO SAY.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      April 22, 2015 at 10:42 am (9 years ago)

      The book is wonderful! I’m glad your 4th graders enjoyed it.

      Reply
  3. Mary Lee
    April 21, 2015 at 8:45 pm (9 years ago)

    Perfect choice of “form” for today1!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      April 22, 2015 at 10:41 am (9 years ago)

      I had a lot of fun with it!

      Reply
  4. Kimberley Moran
    April 21, 2015 at 11:19 am (9 years ago)

    I love using this poem and Joyce Sidman with my 2nd graders. This is wonderful. We can all appreciate food calling to us.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      April 21, 2015 at 2:46 pm (9 years ago)

      I’ve been wanting to play around with this evern since reading Sidman’s book. It was as much fun as I had hoped!

      Reply
  5. Linda Baie
    April 21, 2015 at 8:57 am (9 years ago)

    Very funny, glad you enjoyed that sumptuous candy!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      April 21, 2015 at 9:00 am (9 years ago)

      I can’t resist chocolate!

      Reply

Leave a Reply