Despair

Gloom swallows up days,
casting long shadows of doubt
that sink into souls.

PO-EMotions graphicAfter watching and reading the April poetry challenge by Mary Lee Hahn at A Year of Readingfor the past several years, I decided to write a poem a day this month. Mary Lee is hosting PO-EMotion, with a different emotion for each day of the month. Today’s focus is DESPAIR. For even more poetry fun throughout April, check out the roundup of poetry celebrations and projects at Jama’s Alphabet Soup.

4 Comments on Despair

  1. Carol Varsalona (@cvarsalona)
    April 11, 2015 at 7:46 pm (9 years ago)

    Doubt is the theme for today’s gospel that I just heard. your poem captures this.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      April 12, 2015 at 3:43 pm (9 years ago)

      I didn’t think about it as I wrote it, but doubt very much feeds into despair.

      Reply
  2. Kimberley Moran
    April 11, 2015 at 7:26 am (9 years ago)

    Haiku is perfect for despair. I love how dark your poem feels.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      April 11, 2015 at 10:44 am (9 years ago)

      Thanks. This was a hard one for me to write.

      Reply

Leave a Reply