When I Was Young

IMG_20150406_094733744_HDRWhen I was young,
my cousin and I snuck
to the back bedroom
to hide from our sadness
by playing equally serious games
of go-fish and poker
while our parents and aunts and uncles
paid their respects
and accepted condolences in the living room.
I held my breath
to choke back giggles
that threatened to bubble up
through the empty space
in my aching heart.
When I was young,
I wondered how I could laugh
when death slipped through the rooms,
mingling the too-sweet scent of funeral lilies
with the warmth of casseroles
stacked in rows upon the kitchen counter.
Now that I am older,
I still wonder that laughter seasons the tears
that fall as we gather to remember
and let go.

PO-EMotions graphicAfter watching and reading the April poetry challenge by Mary Lee Hahn at A Year of Reading for the past several years, I decided to write a poem a day this month. Mary Lee is hosting PO-EMotion, with a different emotion for each day of the month. Today’s focus is SADNESS. For even more poetry fun throughout April, check out the roundup of poetry celebrations and projects at Jama’s Alphabet Soup

2 Comments on When I Was Young

  1. Mary Lee
    April 6, 2015 at 6:48 pm (9 years ago)

    Hooray for the giggles! We need them today!!

    (Your anti-spam isn’t showing up on the first or second try, and then I have to reload the image several times to get one to show. Just fyi…)

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      April 6, 2015 at 7:04 pm (9 years ago)

      I’m glad the giggles help!
      Thanks for the fyi. I’ll check behind the scenes and see if I can figure out what is going on.

      Reply

Leave a Reply