Spittin’ Mad

Lightning in Zdolbuniv

By Lyoha123 (Own work) [CC BY-SA 3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0) or GFDL (http://www.gnu.org/copyleft/fdl.html)], via Wikimedia Commons

I got so mad yesterday I could cry.
I lassoed lightning from the sky
and stomped my feet
to an earthquake beat.
But today I don’t even remember why.

 

PO-EMotions graphic

After watching and reading the April poetry challenge by Mary Lee Hahn at A Year of Readingfor the past several years, I decided to write a poem a day this month. Mary Lee is hosting PO-EMotion, with a different emotion for each day of the month. Today’s focus is ANGER. For even more poetry fun throughout April, check out the roundup of poetry celebrations and projects at Jama’s Alphabet Soup. Click the links above to discover today’s poems and more.

4 Comments on Spittin’ Mad

  1. Kimberley Moran
    April 4, 2015 at 9:37 am (9 years ago)

    This is great. I want to write more short poems like this. They have such power and you can really play with words. –an admirer of yours

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      April 4, 2015 at 10:21 am (9 years ago)

      Thanks! This is so different from what I usually write. I want to use this poetry challenge to push myself and try new things. I’m having fun with it so far!

      Reply
  2. Mary Lee
    April 4, 2015 at 8:16 am (9 years ago)

    Thank goodness for the cooling-off after the anger!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      April 4, 2015 at 8:53 am (9 years ago)

      Absolutely!

      Reply

Leave a Reply