Surprise

rainbowSurprise drops into my day
like a stone plopping into a still pond,

ripples across the surface of ordinary time
like giggle bursting forth in church,

tickles the edges of conciousness
like a feather brushing against my cheek,

glimmers like a rainbow
peeking out behind storm clouds,

bubbles to the surface
to spin through the air like puffs of dandelion,

blooms like a sunflower
turning to track the sun across the summer sky,

until all lies quiet and still again.

PO-EMotions graphicAfter watching and reading the April poetry challenge by Mary Lee Hahn at A Year of Readingfor the past several years, I decided to write a poem a day this month. Mary Lee is hosting PO-EMotion, with a different emotion for each day of the month. Today’s focus is SURPRISE. For even more poetry fun throughout April, check out the roundup of poetry celebrations and projects at Jama’s Alphabet Soup. Click the links above to discover today’s poems and more.

4 Comments on Surprise

  1. Linda Baie
    April 3, 2015 at 5:22 pm (9 years ago)

    At first, Kay, I thought that first word was sunrise, & it works with it too. Then I returned to read again & saw my error. I responded differently, but enjoyed that second look too. I love the way you traveled through the day in similes. Beautiful!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      April 3, 2015 at 6:27 pm (9 years ago)

      Thanks! I like your alternative reading of the poem, too.

      Reply
  2. Kimberley Moran
    April 3, 2015 at 9:25 am (9 years ago)

    Such a peaceful surprise. Those unexpected beautiies of life.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      April 3, 2015 at 10:38 am (9 years ago)

      Thanks! Sometimes surprises come more like a kick in the stomach, but I kept being drawn to other images for this poem.

      Reply

Leave a Reply