Welcome to National Poetry Month

It’s the first of April–no fooling–that brings a month-long celebration of poetry. While I don’t think poetry should be limited to the month of April, I relish the opportunity to join in the celebrations this month. Here is my first poem–and picture–to start off with ANTICIPATION. It seems a fitting word to begin the month with!

buds

Though the snow has melted,
spring has not yet arrived.
Bare branches stretch
against a chill blue sky.

Buds swell the tips of lilacs,
hold the promise of spring
in their tightly furled leaves,
waiting for a kiss of sunlight
or caress from a warm breeze
to signal spring is here.

After watching and reading the April poetry challenge by Mary Lee Hahn at A Year of Reading for the past several years, I decided to write a poem a day this month. Mary Lee is hosting PO-EMotion, with a different emotion for each day of the month. Today’s focus is ANTICIPATION. For even more poetry fun throughout April, check out the roundup of poetry celebrations and projects at Jama’s Alphabet Soup

2 Comments on Welcome to National Poetry Month

  1. Mary Lee
    April 1, 2015 at 6:42 pm (9 years ago)

    I’m so glad you’re joining in this year! You’ve captured all of my favorite spring moments, especially the caress of warm breezes!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      April 1, 2015 at 8:54 pm (9 years ago)

      It seems like I anticpate spring more every year! This year I’ve been on the lookout for any sign of spring.

      Reply

Leave a Reply